Pages

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Happy Birthday Baby Boy



This is dedicated to you, Baby Boy. Maybe someday when you're all grown up, you'll look back and say, wow that was me. It seems like it took forever for you to reach one year old, two years at least. Right now i'm holding you as I type this. You like eating paper and cardboard and mommy and daddy so often have to stick our fingers into the roof of your mouth to dislodge foreign objects. You daily bring joy to us and our family wouldn't be complete without you. These pictures were taken the morning of your birthday, obviously while you were yet sleeping. You don't like staying under the cover and you sweat quite easily. You just recently started crawling, not yet walking, but definitely showing an interest there. Just lastnight you stood, under mommy's close watch, on the trampoline on your own and voluntarily for about 5 seconds. You gave me a big smile as if to say, look mommy, i'm doing it. I remember when it was time for you to be born. Nanna was so afraid you'd be born on February 29th, but mommy was already overdue, so we let the doctor help things along. Happy Birthday. We love you, Baby Boy.

Couldn't Resist


I just had to put this picture in. My Baby Boy cracks me up everytime he makes this face.. :)

The Hat












Monday, February 23, 2009

Why I absolutely MUST attend the BlogHer 09 conference

I can't honestly say that I deserve this more than anyone, but I know that I would really enjoy it as much, if not more than everyone.

I think I first really got into blogging as a result of searching for a way to win a Wii. My husband had been wanting one really badly, but we couldn't afford one. I had heard of blogs, and experimented with one where I may have a total of 3 posts.

As you can see, I am fairly new to blogging and I have really come to enjoy it. It's been a way for me to express myself. It's my way to keep up with my journey through life. For me to express experiences that I probably would otherwise forget. I use my blog to post pictures of my children and watch them as they grow and mature. I've found that blogging truly is for me. It's something I hope to be able to take through the rest of my life.

I used to keep a journal, but regrettably stopped a little before I got married. Every now and then I read excerpts from it and get to thinking about how immature I was, how I thought I knew so much. I would "tell" my journal things I couldn't freely tell another human. I see from then how i've grown and matured. I wish I knew about blogging then, because I would have everything here in one place.

I enjoy the blogs of others because I get to know them. Other mothers who are experiencing life. It's my way to learn new things that I may have otherwise not have gotten to know. In return, i'm sharing my life through my blog and hopefully teaching someone something positive that may help them avoid making bad decisions in their lives.

I've heard several good things about the Blogher conference. From the very first thing I heard I knew that I wanted to be a part. I know that there is so much more I have to learn such as how to attract more attention to my blog. If you checked it out, you'd see that I have a total of two followers, one of them being myself. I want to learn how to attract everyday people. I want to learn how to attract PR attention and blog about new and exciting products that I get the privilege to test. I want to share joy with others by having exciting giveaways and therefore I know the Blogher conference will be what's hot for me to be in the know. The Blogher conference experience, i'm sure, will be one of the biggest steps I can take to be in the know. I'll be among many who will be where i'm trying to get. This would be my "golden ticket" moment to be chosen to attend this conference.

Why Me?

We don't always know why we face some things in life. Someday when we get down the road and look back, I truly believe that we'll understand why some things had to be the way they were.


Sunday, February 22, 2009

He's Back Now

My husband was released from the hospital and brought home yesterday. I felt like I was dreaming from the time he got here. Baby boy just stared at him for a while with a little smile on his face almost as if he was in disbelief and of course the others are happy he's back as well. I spent a lot of yesterday hugging him and kissing him and sitting on his lap. Even today I have leftover feelings of bliss that he's back. It seems like he was gone longer than what he was. I've found myself not complaining about him watching sports or even being annoyed inside about him watching them. I'm just glad he's returned and hope we never have to be apart this way again.

Friday, February 20, 2009

Hoping He'll Return Tomorrow

As of right now my husband is still hospitalized. I put his picture as our computer background picture because my kids are missing daddy; and so is mommy. I would have gladly taken the drive to see him, but everything with our van seems wrong except that we all have a place to sit and it can drive forward. I almost wanted to cry when my baby boy sat on my lap talking to the picture of daddy. I didn't even know it mattered so much to him, but yes he realizes daddy isn't here.

We're hoping he'll be released tomorrow. They're trying to make sure the meds are stabilized in his body before they let him go. Otherwise, everything else seems to be well. I've really taken the time of his absence to reflect on so much of what my husband is to me. I can't imagine my life without him. We have our Tuesday and Thursday night shows that we normally watch together. He's my best (earthly) friend and truly a father to our children. We laugh together and vent to each other. We're each others support system. He makes a mean spaghetti. He helps me out by preparing dinner at least twice a week. I hope, as I sit here and start to cry typing it all and reflecting, that we never have to go through this again. Our lives have been so difficult in the time that he's been out of the Navy. He's going through a lot healthwise.

Baby, if you ever do take time and read my blog, know that I love you with all of my heart. We have our ups and downs but I am missing you so much right now. I appreciate the sacrifices that you make for this family. and the love I know you have for us all. We don't always have it all together, but life is about learning, so in your fight i'll fight with you. I know you have my back and I want you to know that I have yours too. I love you so much.

Everyone else, please never take your loved ones for granted.

We have a crawler..

It seemed like it would never happen, but baby boy finally decided he was going to crawl. We've been trying to encourage him to do so, but up until now, he'd just chosen not to. He'd tease me as if he would, but stop there. He is my latest crawler out of my four. As you can see from the pictures, he's not happy about it. But just wait til he figures out everything he can do with his newfound ability. I'll be the one not so happy.

And We Have a Crawler


Tuesday, February 17, 2009

So stressed right now.

First let me say hello to my VERY FIRST FOLLOWER!! Bless you.

I am just stressed out right now. On the verge of tears and I need to vent. My husband was released from the military based on severe depression. Well tonight I had to take him to the hospital because it was getting the best of him again. So here I am all alone with our fabulous 4. Hoping things go smoothly.
When he was admitted to the hospital back when he was stationed in California, I at least had my sister to help me out. Right now, it's just me and the kids. We're at least 5 hours from my nearest family with an unregistered van that won't reverse. I was supposed to be heading to the dentist tomorrow for a recurring toothache which i'll have to cancel and hope that the pain won't stir up again.
The ride out was to get him to the hospital was devastating. Usually, my husband drives and he pushes the van out with his foot, because we happen to fortunately be on a decline so that helps a lot. I had to do the driving tonight. I put the van in reverse when he reminded me uh no that's not going to work. I put it into neutral and stepped on the brake too soon which stopped the flow and had to try my foot out, forgetting I had the other foot on the brake, I attempted to push it out. He had to get out and help push and at the same time I remembered my foot was on the brake and took it off so we could get it out.
We took the back streets to the VA and the whole way I had to control myself from complaining. I know he needs the counseling. I guess it's what's best for him. So that's where we are now.
I still don't know what's up with the hotline number we called for advice. My husband was having an emergency of sorts and they give me number for him to call a specialist tomorrow. He was really stressed and I couldn't stand to see him suffering this way all night. It's more like the coldline. Well, I sit here awaiting his call; telling me what's next.

Saturday, February 14, 2009

Chance to win an Ipod Touch here....

http://myowncircleofconfusion.com/?page_id=826

Sunday, February 8, 2009

Kozy Shack Ready Grains

This is a new product on the market. I have to say my kids love it and i'm happy with that. It's low in fat and cholesterol. It's an excellent source of fiber. It's good for you. For me personally, it's okay. It's really creamy and can be eaten either hot or cold. I tried it both ways and I personally like it better served hot. I did try the apple cinnamon, but it comes in original, strawberry and maple brown sugar as well. It is a bit pricey in my opinion, but if you want something good for you that you can get your kids to eat too, then i'd recommend giving it a try. I give this one a B+.

Saturday, February 7, 2009

A Review on Diapers...

Today i'm posting a review on diapers. I tried out the Playskool Rompers Diapers for the first time. My experience thus far has just been so-so. First of all, I didn't even know that they made diapers. My experience in the past with Playskool, mind you, has been very positive. So far, though, I think I have to say they should stick with toys. I've been having trouble with the velcro that is attached to the tabs coming off. I have to give these a D.

My usual brand is the Parent's Choice. They're the ones that are sold at Walmart and for the most part, the experience with them has been well. I wouldn't recommend them, though if you have a baby with sensitive skin. They come in various size packs and at a reasonable price, so if you're looking for value and quality these are a great recommendation. I've not experienced many problems with them. From time to time, i've found that they've had manufacturing defects, but upon contacting them, they've been loyal to their brand and take care of their customers. I personally give these a B.

If you want to go a little bit more expensive of course, you can always go with Huggies or Pampers. They are also decent as far as quality goes. If you're looking for popular characters that children can definitely relate to and can spare a little bit of extra change, these are the diapers for you. I give these diapers also a B.

How to Include the Kids on Valentine's Day..

My best answer to this is just do it. You know your kids, so you know what to expect. Blogging about this reminded me of a commercial from a few years back. There's mommy and daddy sitting at the table to dinner and playing footsies. Trying to be all "romantical" with each other. They're lovingly gazing into each others eyes and all of a sudden peas fly their way. They both turn to their toddler who took that moment from them.
We still love our kids nonetheless. And this is what Valentine's Day is all about; sharing the love. There are of course different levels of love. So let the kids spend special time with you and share something special with them on this day. Make it memorable. Dress them up and set your table really nicely if you're celebrating from home. Take pictures. I heard one man on tv saying that he and his son make it about the women in their lives, which is great, but I want my boys to know that yes it feels great to be a giver, but it also feels about as great to receive also. Send the kiddos off to bed (with smiles on their faces and their hearts also) and spend a little QT (quality time) with dad.

Contest is Now Over

iPod Touch Giveaway at Mommy Daddy Blog!

And yet another chance at another Ipod!!!

Mommy Daddy Blog is giving away something you’d love to touch; a shiny spankin’ new 2nd Gen 8GB iPod Touch MP3 player and a $10 iTunes gift card! Click here to enter this sweet giveaway!

How I Plan To Spend Valentine's Day

Ahh Valentine's Day. The national day of love. Well for me, with four children, the best i'll be able to do is to be spontaneous. My husband and I have had our pre-Valentine's celebration, which is probably all we will really be able to do. He gave me chocolates, I gave him one of those little radios that you can recharge by winding it or placing it in the sunshine. Four kids under 7 make it virtually impossible. Well, maybe at the end of the day, we'll sit on the couch together and watch some cooking show and snuggle up, unless of course a nice romantic movie will happen to be on that we can both agree to. He's not a girly romantic movie type of guy unless it would have some sort of action involved, but I kinda doubt that'll happen, but we'll see.

If you're reading this, let me tell you of an exciting chance to win an ipod touch along with a $10 card for itunes. Just go to this link http://www.momgenerations.com/blogs/mamalovesgiveaways/index.php/2009/02/02/win-an-ipod-touch-and-a-10-itunes-gift-card/#comment-28980 and follow the directions there. Good Luck.

Tuesday, February 3, 2009

Having a Little Bit O' Fun








Pics of my kids..