Pages

Monday, June 29, 2009

Sweethearts Party Favors




What you'll need:
1 oz boxes of Red, White and You Sweethearts
Sheets of cardstock or construction paper
Ribbon
Scissors
Single hole puncher
Glue stick
Pencil
Crayons, markers and stickers for embellishment

Measure and cut cardstock to 7½"x4". Starting with the narrow end of the box, wrap the cardstock around the box to create a sleeve. The edges should overlap on each side of the box. Use the glue stick to secure the overlaps together, remove the box and let sleeve dry.

Gently pinch one end of the open sleeve together and create a hole with the hole puncher about ½" down.

Cut a piece of ribbon to 20" and insert one end of the ribbon into the hole from the outside and pull through to create a ribbon sling for you box of Sweethearts, using the holes that you created in step 2.

Insert the box into the sling and push down so the sleeve completely covers the box. To secure, tie a decorative bow with the excess ribbon.

Lastly, embellish the sleeve with patriotic words, stickers and designs. Use as party favors, invitations, or maybe even a simple thank-you.

Sweethearts Patriotic Shakers




What you'll need:

Red, White and You Sweethearts
Clear plastic container with flip-top lid (such as a nut or spice container)
Red, white and blue ribbons
Metal brads
Phillips head screwdriver
Scissors
Patriotic stickers for embellishment (such as stars, flags, fireworks)

Thoroughly clean plastic container, remove any existing labels with soap and water, and dry completely.

Use screwdriver to poke a hole in the lid of the container, being careful to keep flip-top function intact. Keep adding pressure to screwdriver until a hole is formed.

Cut 8 to 12 small strands of ribbon, each measuring 16"long. Cut a small hole in the end of each ribbon and place a metal brad through each of the holes to create a streamer. Press brad into the hole in the lid and open up the brad's tabs to secure in place.

To complete, fill the container halfway with Red, White and You Sweethearts and embellish the outside of the container with patriotic stickers.

Sweethearts Flag Cookie Pops




What you'll need:
1 roll of prepared cookie dough
1/4 cup all purpose flour
3 cups prepared white frosting
Red food coloring
Blue food coloring
15 wooden craft sticks
60 white Red, White and You Sweethearts
3 pastry bags (or plastic sandwich bags)
Ruler
Pizza cutter
Cookie sheet

Preheat oven to 350°F. Clean off a work surface and sprinkle with cup of flour to prevent sticking.

Roll out cookie dough to 1/8" thickness. Use your ruler to measure rectangles that are 2½"x4" and cut out with pizza cutter.

Evenly space wooden sticks on the cookie sheet and place each cookie on top of a stick, lining the stick up with the left side of the cookie, and press gently to adhere.

Bake cookies until cooked through.

Mix 1/2 cup of the white frosting with blue food coloring, and mix 1½ cups of white frosting with red food coloring. Transfer red, white and blue frostings to their own pastry bags.

Decorate cooled cookies to look like American flags with the colored frosting. Draw a blue rectangle in the top left corner and fill it in, adding white Sweethearts for the stars. Alternate stripes of red and white frosting until you get to thirteen total.

Sweethearts Red White and You Flag Cake



What you Need:
1 prepared 9"x13" cake (any flavor)
3 cups prepared white frosting
Blue food coloring
50 white and 100 red -Red, White and You Sweethearts
1 cake board or platter
1 pastry bag (or plastic sandwich bag)

Please note that you want to make sure the cake is completely cooled before adding the frosting. Add blue food coloring to 1/2 cup of the white frosting. Stir and set aside.

Place cooled cake on serving platter and cover with remaining white frosting.

Transfer blue frosting to pastry bag and draw a large blue rectangle on the top left corner of the cake, and fill in to create a solid backdrop for the "stars." Fill in the blue area with the 50 white hearts. alternating the rows with 6 hearts then 5 hearts.

Next, to make the red stripes, line up red hearts as seen in the picture.

To finish, use the remaining blue frosting to pipe a border around the base of the cake.

Friday, June 26, 2009

Sweethearts.....Red, White and You

Right now I want to talk about something that comes close to my heart. While my husband never did make it to Iraq in the time that he served, I know the anxiety that affects the wives and husbands of those who are serving. You never know when they may be called up to go to the war. I have two brothers in law that have been to Iraq and one who has to return later this year. So many of our brave soldiers who have given the ultimate sacrifice of their lives.

The Sweethearts brand, for the first time in 140 years, has extended their conversation hearts beyond Valentine's Day to their new line of Red, White and You Sweethearts. They have messages that include "Brave One," "My Hero," "Miss You," "Proud of U" and others. These are truly messages of encouragement and inspiration.

In order to support our troops who are serving, the USO created the Operation USO Care Package program. It has distributed more than 1.5 million care packages and continues to distribute around 25,000 packages every month to our troops around the world. The Sweethearts brand is supporting this effort. The purchase of their products makes this continually possible. Please show your support to our men and women who are courageously fighting by making a donation of $25 or more at USO.ORG/Sweethearts

Sunday, June 21, 2009

Ready to shed the pounds.

I've been thinking about posting this here, and i've decided that the time is right now. Between 2002 and 2008, by the grace of God, i've birthed 4 healthy children into this world, and i've also miscarried once. Along the way, i've picked up more weight than I wanted to. I want to be accountable to myself and declare that it's time for me to shed the extra pounds. I started Monday of this past week, and i'm proud to say that i've been faithful so far to working out in some form and eating earlier in the day as opposed to whatever whenever I feel like it. Though i'm not exactly pleased with the 3 pounds that i've shed so far, i'm not ready to give up and well at least it's something. I realize that I didn't gain this overnight. I realize that it going to be a bit more difficult for me as a woman as opposed to a man but i'm ready for a change.

Saturday, June 20, 2009

Shower Yourself Beautiful This Summer

Here are some tips from actress Holly Robinson Peete. You can make it full size by clicking the rectangular box on the upper right hand corner on the bar above the picture. To exit, just click the X when you're finished and scroll to the next post for how you can win!!

Shower Yourself Beautiful

Why Suave? Review and Giveaway

Affordable

Let me first start off by saying that quality isn't always expensive! Suave makes excellent products and they're available at a price that fits your budget and there is something for everyone. Men, women and children of all races. How do I know? Even before I was asked to do this review, I purchased Suave products.



Quality

Suave makes products that smell really nice. I really do wish there was a scratch and sniff feature that I could insert here right now! The scent is lasting, the body washes don't dry your skin out. I was showering with some tonight and my daughter walked in and says, "That smells really good mommy." She then asked me if she could take a shower. The lotions are awesome. They leave your skin feeling smooth and soft without making it feel greasy. Let me tell you, these products will make you feel more confident; there's just something about them. Their products are comparable to the more expensive Bath and Body Works brand.



The Giveaway

One of my blog readers is going to win 3 Suave products of their own including the new Suave Cherry Blossom Naturals Body Wash, Suave Apricot Scrub Naturals Body Wash and also the Suave Advanced Therapy Lotion. This contest will run until July 5th at 11:59 cst and is open only to U.S. residents within the 48 contiguous states. The winner will be chosen at random and have 48 hours to respond to the winning email or another winner will be chosen. Please leave an email address if it's not clearly visible on your profile so that I can contact you if you win. The rules are simple and you get an entry for each task that you complete:



Main Entry: This is a must. Complete this one first or your alternate entries will not be counted. Go over to ShowerYourselfBeautiful and play their instant win game. Come back here and tell me in a comment one of the gift registry items that you played for.



-Alternate entries. Leave a comment below for each alternate entry that you complete so that all of your entries will be counted:



1. Follow my blog

2.Follow me on twitter @comefollowme

3. Tweet this giveaway. You can tweet up to once every day and don't forget to leave a comment for each tweet. Feel free to Copy and tweet this:

Find out how to shower yourself beautiful and win some great Suave products here: http://tinyurl.com/nrb7z4 Pls RT

4. Subscribe to my blog by email or RSS feed







Happy Birthday Big Boy











Little One,
I want you to know that I love you. I really try hard to show it. I love looking into your eyes, so innocent. I like the browness of your eyes. They go so perfectly with the color of your skin. You're so serious. When you make up your mind to do something, there's no stopping you. You're one determined little guy. Sometimes, though, I wish you would listen to me a little more; I want to protect you. I know that as life goes on, you'll make your own mistakes, and you'll learn from them. Let me tell you how you touch my heart everytime. Sometimes out of the blue, you'll just go and grab me and daddy a water or something else to drink, and we haven't even asked for it. For this, dad has joked that you're the one he wants to take care of him when he gets older. You're still not talking like you should at this stage in your life, and I know we both get frustrated by this, but I truly believe that in time it will come. I remember the time you took a swing at me because I kept trying to get you to repeat yourself, because I really wanted to understand you. I think you now understand after our talk that that's not the way to handle your frustrations, but now I think back at that and laugh. I know you understand well, because I can ask you which letter is which, and you get almost all of them right. I try to take special care to show each of you some special attention, because two of you are in the middle, and I don't want you or big sister to feel any different from the oldest nor the youngest. Hopefully someday, years down the road, you'll look back at this and you'll get a laugh, or a sentimental feeling. I love you so much big boy.

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

A HUGE Wordless Wednesday



































Tuesday, June 16, 2009

How I got my feelings hurt.......on twitter

And no I didn's see it coming. This was almost tear worthy, but let me give you the juicy details.

I attended a twitter event. They were offering a prize I really wanted to win. For some reason, i've entered several contests and attended many events run by this particular host, but never won anything from this particular host.

Per the prize rules, I could get as many entries as I wanted. Ok, so I'm going all out. I just really got into a drive to lose weight, and this would be absolutely what I need to get me kick started. I log onto my second twitter account, which at the time had only 3 followers, thinking I won't be doing any harm. I also warned the followers to that account that I was after a prize, so don't mind me in so many words. I was on a mission.

I seriously tweeted about 100 times and went back and entered each one on that post. I wanted to lock in my chances, knowing that only 2 were being given away, so I went back at it. On my way to my second hundred. Literally. By this time, i'd somehow managed to get a total of 7 followers.

I see a message pop to my inbox from this host and open to read "Hello, friend could you slow down on the so and so entries, I don't want to be associated with spam." I responded with a "You got it!" and let this person know that I was just taking advantage of the entries that I could get. This wasn't the part that cut though. The part that cut my was when I went back and read the tweets from that person and one being "Pet peeve of the day, people who would do anything to win a prize." Ouch! Wouldn't that hurt you? It hurt me. The rules stated that I could get as many entries as I wanted, and so that's exactly what I was doing.

Well, I went back and deleted my entries. All the ones that i'd posted for my shot at winning (so I thought). I did go back and find that I have one more to delete, but I already deleted the tweet attached to it anyway, so i'm sure it won't count.

Thursday, June 11, 2009

Father's Day.....For Mother's



Ladies get your appreciation to your Dads and Husband's in early, cause it's going down over at MomLogic again!! Okay, so it's not actually Father's Day, but think of it as a bonus Mother's Day. On Tuesday June 16, from 4-6pm PST, Momlogic is throwing another virtual party. There will be prizes again, valued at over $1000, with the grand prize being a Frigidaire Gallery Built In Dishwasher valued at $650!! Yow! You know you want it. How do you get in? Click any occurence of the word Momlogic in this post and join the Momlogic community, if you haven't already. The complete available details are there. Let's have fun, again!!

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Cholate Chip Walnut Blondie

This is a recipe you're sure to enjoy!

Filling:
2 eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 sticks unsalted butter melted
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 prepared deep-dish piecrust

Preheat oven to 325.

Mix eggs, flour, both sugars, butter and vanilla. Add in chocolate chips and walnuts. Pour into piecrust. You may want to put the piecrust on a baking sheet if it's really full because it will drip. Bake for 1 hour or until it's set (usually takes longer than an hour for me, maybe more like an hour and twenty minutes). This is one of those things that tastes even better when it's completely cooled or even the next day. Serve with ice cream and hot fudge, or chocolate shell

Visiting Family

I hadn't seen my dad since 2006 when I was pregnant with my very soon to be 3 year old. He had never met our two youngest children in person. It seems so strange, but we just haven't had the finances and/or a dependable vehicle at the same time.

My husband is trying to get hired out that way, so finally I was able to see him again last week. And to think I almost didn't go. We had been planning to all go since about 2 weeks prior, when my husband got word that if he could pass a physical, he could get a job that would move us out that way.

The day before got here and we got a very unexpected and disappointing visit that work needed to be done on our place. This was Tuesday and they wanted to come Wednesday. We were instructed to remove everything from our closets. I changed my mind about going. We were up late trying to get everything out of the closets. I told my sister I didn't realize our lives were in our closets; we've accumulated so much it's unbelievable.

When they got here and removed the ceilings to install ducts, I decided I don't want to be here, nor do I want my children to be here breathing in the insulation and whatever else was up there not good to inhale.

We went ahead and packed and hit the road for that long 6 hour drive. Got there around 11pm on Wednesday night. My 1 year old became the clingiest child ever, not opening up to anyone; not letting anyone hold him long before having a fit including his own dad. I was the only person he wanted holding him.

It was so good being able to see everyone. The first night my sister next to me invited us over for dinner. The next day we ran into my oldest brother's wife at Walmart and they invited us to Chuck E Cheese's and the children had a fantastic time; my oldest son was with my sister, so he was very disappointed when he found out we'd gone without him, but in my defense, we couldn't get in touch. On Saturday, we went to my second oldest brother's house and followed them to a very nice park in Highland Park and they had a barbecue and again the children had a blast. The very next day my oldest brother invited us over and we had yet more barbecue.

I really miss being around my family and am hoping that all works out and we can be nearer again.