Pages

Monday, November 30, 2009

Win an RCA Gift Basket

This prize pack is a very nice one that includes a 7" Portable DVD player, a Small Wonder digital vide camcorder And a Clock Radio with a built in iPod Dock. Yet another prize to be one over at Vanilla Joy. Hurry and get your entries in for this one as it ends Wednesday December 2.


While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.Obaji Skin Care
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language

How About a Logitech Webcam Pro 9000?

I know what it's like to be away from family. You have to stay in touch somehow, which is mostly over the phone, but doesn't it just feel a thousand times better when you can see the face of your loved one? Well if you don't have a webcam, or could just use a nicer upgrade, which is my case, check out Vanilla Joy where one is up for grabs. This webcam goes beyond your ordinary "Hey I can see myself on the computer" webcam. There's fun to be had. Enter to win no later than Wednesday December 2.


While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language

Who Needs a Rice Cooker?

I know I can use one. As I was reading Kelsey's review over at Vanilla Joy I could definitely relate to the rice cooking concerns that she was faced with. Now, know that this isn't your everyday ordinary rice cooker. It has some special technology that insures your rice comes out just right along with the ability to cook some other foods. It even acts as a slow cooker, but hey I didn't do the review. Check out Kelsey's review over at Vanilla Joy and enter to win that bad boy no later than Wednesday, December 2.


While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language

JVC Picsio Pocket Flash Memory Camera

Are you in need of one of those nice little portable cameras? How about one that is a 1080p that records 30 frames per second? Well Vanilla Joy has a cute one that she's reviewed. Just check out the video of her little cutie. I love the crispness of the picture that this camera takes. She's giving one away to one of her readers, but you'll need to enter no later than Wednesday, December 2.

While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language

Quick Shoutout

I was getting to be absolutely fed up with the look of my blog, to the point i'd asked my brother to connect me with his connections so that I could get a makeover for it. In the meantime I continued to search and stumbled on a lovely blog through Southern Blessings called Bella Mella. When I got to the Bella Mella blog I thought her blog was so cute and happened to notice that she'd gotten her design from The Cutest Blog on the Block blog. There's all these awesome, cute and free things you can use to make your blog absolutely beautiful. Did I mention free? Plenty of designs to choose from and easy for do-it-yourself-ers-with-no-blog-design-technical-skills like me. If I ever get tired of looking at my blog, I know just where to go. Isn't it just great being networked with other bloggers?

The Thanksgiving Feast that Almost Didn't Happen

On the Thursday before Thanksgiving a few of my family members fell ill. I was included in this few. I'd nonetheless made an attempt to continue to be a teacher and a mother to my children, at least for the last couple of days for that week. The weekend came on around and we'd already made plans for my sister and her children to come over, along with a friend of hers when I got word around Saturday evening that my oldest brother and his family wanted to come along and have my dad over as well. Of course I think this is great. Our first Thanksgiving with my family here since, well Wow I can't even recall the last time we spent a holiday together, but I can tell you that it's been years!

Wednesday, Thanksgiving Eve rolls around, and i'm feeling extremely fatigued. I tell my hubby I need to go to the hospital because all I felt like doing was sleeping, although the other symptoms were pretty much gone. He started telling me, "Well we need to just cancel," but I really didn't want to let everyone down; everyone was so looking forward to it. I went ahead to the hospital and the doctor could find nothing. I was sure maybe my iron was low, as i've had issues with this in the past, but he said that my iron levels were normal and I probably just needed to rest after getting whatever that virus was that i'd caught. I'd continued to try to be Superwoman and hold down my fort as in times past, but my body wasn't having it. I considered canceling, but let me tell you i'm so glad I didn't.

I did refuse to stay up trying to cook anything that evening, though. Fortunately someone wanted to help my husband, who's a veteran, with our Thanksgiving Meal, which couldn't have happened at a better time. The food arrived completely done and all I had to do was reheat. My sister got some things prepared the night before and also came over and did more (Major hats off to her!) and also my sister in law did an awesome job (without her we would have had no dressing or macaroni and cheese which are both tradition for my family, along with some other key dishes. My dressing was a mess!) I wanted my other brothers and their family members to stop by too, but i'd informed them just the day of, which was bad planning on my part, but i'll try to be sure and get that right next time.

Well turns out we had an AWESOME day together and i'm glad I didn't let a little illness cause me to cancel. I'm Thankful for my family!

Saving Money for the Holidays

The holidays can be so stressful. There's increased traffic, cars and people wise which doesn't help the fact that you're probably spending a lot more money than you otherwise would any other time of the year. Sit back, take a deep breath. In deep and out and tell yourself you're gonna save some money. I'm going to share some simple tips on how you can do just that.

1. Coupons work year around. Add these to the sales that are going on as a result of stiff competition for your money and you can come out on top.

2. Black Friday's gone, but hey, chances are you're reading this on Cyber Monday. Catch those deals!! But don't go in blind. Get yourself a game plan together so you don't overspend. Figure first how much money you'll have to spare and then virtually shop around to find out who has the best deals for what you want.

3. If you're like me, you have a big family and a tight budget. Think gift exchange. You know like the ones they do at work or church where everyone's name is put into a hat or bag and each pulls out the name for whom they'll buy a gift. This works for family as well and this way no one's under too much pressure to spend more than you have trying to please everyone. Remember, holidays should be more spending time together than getting in over your head in debt.

4. Check out money saving sites such as ConsumerQueen, Spoofee, Slickdeals and Fatwallet where not only moderators, but everyday people like yourself who also want to save some money come in and add deals and even more ways that you can save such as where to go specifically or how you can combine this or that offer to save even more, team effort.

5. I've personally been trying to win some prizes to help out for the holidays, and let me tell you i've actually had a bit of success. Speaking of winning check out Twittermoms and be one of the first 50 bloggers to share your money saving tips and you could win a $25 gift card to Staples and also an additional chance to be randomly selected to win one of ten for $100. Also be sure to check out Staples website for some additional holiday money saving deals.

Sunday, November 29, 2009

Step 2 Kitchen Review and Giveaway over there...

This is one that I would love to win for my daughter. She is only 5, but really into cooking shows and pretend cooking. You can enter for your chance to win over at Vanilla Joy. This giveaway ends December 2.


While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language

Saturday, November 28, 2009

Win a FreeAgent Theatre HD Media Player

Would you like to be able to enjoy all of your digital media (PC or Mac) on your home theater in true 1080p HD quality with crystal clear surround sound audio? Well if you win this HD Media player, you'll be able to do just that. For your shot at winning, check out Vanilla Joy. Be sure to do so before the deadline of December 2.


While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language

Friday, November 27, 2009

Win a Bosch Kitchen Machine

With an 800 watt motor and a 6.5 quart mixing bowl this is a baker's dream machine and you can win one over at Vanilla Joy. You can get several entries and this giveaway ends Wednesday December 2, so to be in the running check it out.

While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language

Karen's Party Wraps Giveaway

You know the great thing about being a blogger? You really meet some great people. One i've met is Karen over at Karen's Party Wraps, and she's agreed to sponsor this giveaway for my readers.

Party wraps are printables and party favors that you can use for things such as scrapbooking, making invitations to parties and even putting together your own personal cookbook. The great thing is that this can be done right from the convenience of your home and she has a large selection to fit any lifestyle. These include things like having a new baby or graduating and they range from different professions from teachers to doctors.

Karen has so generously offered two prize packages including one for $100 and another for $50 of printables that the winners get to choose. I'll keep the entries simple as always and close this giveaway December 15 at 11:59 pm cst.

First *Mandatory* entry:
1. Visit and tell me which category you would find most useful to you and why.

2. Become a public follower of my blog

3. Follow me on twitter @comefollowme

4. Tweet this message up to 4 times a day

Enter to win one of two party wrap prize packages at http://tinyurl.com/y8j2rmd. Ends 12/15 @comefollowme

5. Add my button to your sidebar.

Be sure to leave a separate comment for each entry so that each entry will count. I may be adding more ways that you can enter to win, so please keep your eyes on this post.

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

My Cousin Johnny has Passed

I just received a call from my sister around 15 minutes ago saying that my cousin Johnny has passed. It's heartbreaking, because I was really holding out on hope that he'd fully recover from all that he's been through lately. I'd left messages of hope on his Facebook page, hoping that one day he'd see them again, soon. I mean just a few days ago, i'd received an encouraging update that he was better. Somewhat breathing on his own again and opening his eyes and batting them, though they still couldn't tell if he was able to see. He appeared to not be able to speak, so we can't tell if he was in pain or not. God knows what's best. Maybe he was in pain. He'd suffered so much already in his life. Please keep my family in your prayers.

My Christmas Wishlist

Five things i'm wishing for for Christmas include:
1. My family getting together
2. A high quality DSLR computer
3 A reliable laptop
4. Health and Happiness
5. The sleighful of gifts being given away at MomitForward.com

Favorite handmade gift i've received (thanks for not saying it has to be a Christmas gift because I don't recall ever receiving a handmade Christmas gift):
1. I'd have to go with the handmade blanket my mom made for my firstborn son.

Handmade gift I would love to tackle:
1. I guess i'd have to give a similar answer to that of Jyl over at as well and go with:
1.Knitted hats, socks, blankets or even sewn (boy I need to get in someone's class somewhere)

Best Christmas gift I received as a child:
1. I'll have to go with a camera I received. The first one I ever recall owning with the screen on the back. I'd received a tote for Christmas and though that was it. I seriously thought my parents were trying to tell me I was too old to receive the fun Christmas gift until I realized that tote was heavier than it looked like it should be. Inside was the coolest camera EVER (back then anyway, well to me.)

Items on my kids wishlists (include but not limited to)
1. Razor Scooters
2. Helmet Heads
3. Pretty much anything made by Leapfrog (put at the tops of their list by me)
4. Dolls and stuffed animals and ponies
5. Video game related items

Favorite Holiday Food(s)
1.My mom's dressing
2.My grandma's sweet potato pie
3.My mother in law's fettucine

What will I be handcrafting?
1.No plans to handcraft anything, but who can say for sure?

My favorite Holiday Movie:
Forgive me for not having an immediate answer on this one

My favorite holiday song(s):
Joy to the World
Jesus is the Reason
Go Tell it on the Mountain

Favorite Holiday Pastime:
Just being able to enjoy seeing everyone feeling all bubbly inside and the spirit of the season and of giving that just seems to fill the hearts of so many.

Tag you're it:
Adiaha over at Adiaha.com
Angie over at A Simple Kinda Life
Susan over at Susieqtpies Scraps of Life

Want your shot at an awesome prize valued at $3800? Check out and be sure to also check out Provo Craft for some ideas on how to be all crafty like.

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

HP Touchsmart at Jolly Mom Now Live!

I just posted about one that will be going on over at one site and found this one here that starts on Monday. Be sure to stay tuned to Jollymom's website for another chance to win your very own HP Touchsmart! This contest will end on December 7.

Helping Families in Need this Holiday Season



There is no gift too small. Just $1 gets you into the raffle to win some great prizes! And even if you don't win, your donation is going to help some family in need.

Sunday, November 22, 2009

HP Touchsmart giveaway starts Monday 11/23

I just posted about one that will be going on over at one site and found this one here that starts on Monday. Be sure to stay tuned to Jollymom's website for another chance to win your very own HP Touchsmart!

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Win an HP Touchsmart

5MinutesforMom is giving away an HP Touchsmart 600 over on their site. It's easy to enter and you can also get multiple entries. For more check out 5MinutesforMom and enter for your chance to win. This giveaway ends December 1.

The new Samsung Solstice

As a part of a contest going on at the CalmCoolConnected website to win this awesome new phone, I left this comment:
"Oh my goodness this phone is the definition of cool! It’s modern it’s hip and it looks good. Of course if it were mine i’d be cool(er) because it is (lol) and of course being cool means i’m automatically calm and collected!!"
This contest runs until tomorrow November 22 and you can have a chance to win as well by visiting here: CalmCoolConnected

Jillian Michael's and Wii Fit Plus Giveaway

Coffee with the Mrs has this giveaway going on right now at her site. It's easy to enter and you can get multiple entries. This giveaway ends on December 1 at 11:59pm est.

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Thanksgiving Traditions

I love Thanksgiving time. It is truly a burden (having to prepare all that food, especially when you have to do it alone) but more of a joy that makes that burden worth it. It's one of the few times I take to prepare such a huge meal. I'd like to share with you three traditions of mine.

1. Starting the night before. My mom would always start with the turkey and the ham the night before Thanksgiving. She would also prep some of the sides along with us girls. Deserts and pies would normally be our duty. She would slow roast the turkey and ham over night so that early the next morning it'd be ready to go and we'd have to worry about the sides the day of.

2. The ham. The traditional taste for us would be one of ham that had slices cut through it. We'd stick in cloves, stuff with brown sugar and pour apple cider vinegar over it.

3. Reflecting on the meaning of Thanksgiving. It's a day to reflect on things that are well and that have been well instead of what's wrong and just not going right. A day for family togetherness and other family members drop by and say hi and maybe even grab a few bites of the meal into which you've put time and love.

This post was prompted by this one over at Twittermoms as a result of Target wanting us to take time to reflect on Thanksgiving traditions.

Healthy Kids Tips Around the House

Had to change to a link. Hopefully this is temporary until I can figure out how to expand my borders out. Here's the link to that YouTube Video

This is a video that I and my children created that includes 7 + green tips.
My top three that I try to practice regularly include

1. Turning off lights when they're not in use
2. Turning your heater down or even off whenever possible.
Even colder months have warmer days.
3. Leaving your water heater on the lowest possible setting.

These three tips alone will save energy as well as save you some money.

Some other tips include:

4. Buying green cleaning products.
5. Take a walk, ride a bike or carpool whenever possible
6. Use recycled products
7. Use re-usable bags when you go out shopping
8. Opt for electronic statements or bills, thereby saving trees
9. Use lower watt light bulbs
10. Family activities that involve turning off the computers and televisions such as board games our going to a local park.
11. Say no to plastics (whenever possible) Many plastics have harmful chemicals that react to heat, so i've opted to stop buying my children those oven meals that come in plastic containers.
12.Support Green Companies
13. Opt to dress your family warmer on colder days so that the heat doesn't have to be put up as high.
14. Invest in a water filter. This will save you so much money over buying bottled water and is environmentally friendlier.
15. Buy groceries that are grown locally and that are in season.
16. Try not to wash partial loads whenever possible and be sure to use cold water for washes whenever possible.
17. Take Care of You! Eat right sleep right excercise!

These are all simple changes that anyone can make with little effort.


My sister also told me how she likes to unplug everything when she's not using it including tv's and and other entertainment media devices that require use of electricity.

For some other tips on being green, check out LightSaferGreener and while you're there, be sure to check out the contest they have going on where you can share your family's green tips and have the change to win Airwear lenses for your entire family.

Monday, November 16, 2009

Your Friend shops easy and thinks you should too!

CSN Stores offers the largest selection of items for your home and office, at the lowest prices! As a rewards member you get $15 toward your first order and 3% back on every purchase. Plus, earn $15 for every friend you refer who makes a purchase!
View >>

Friday, November 13, 2009

More Beautiful You.



I'd heard this song before, but hadn't seen the video before tonight and thought i'd share. If everyone could hear this and just learn to appreciate you! Listen and enjoy.

All I Want for Christmas Entry....

Also had to hopefully temporarily remove this video to realign my blog, but here's a direct link to the YouTube Video.
This video says it all! I really need to makeover our bedrooms. This blog post is a response to the contest over at Twittermoms where the winner gets a custom bedroom makeover valued at $1000 from Vision Bedding.

Thursday, November 12, 2009

Just for Fun....

Send your own ElfYourself eCards

Saturday, November 7, 2009

Little Blends Winner

The winner of the Little Blends thermos and coupon giveaway is JesusGirl! Please join me in congratulating her!

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Share a Laugh (or three)

Kids really do say the Darndest Things. These are three moments I wish I could have caught on camera.

1. My 3 year old kept asking me "Mommy can I eat this candy?" To which I replied each time "No." He'd not yet even eaten breakfast! He cried for a while and proceeded to tell me "I'm tired of you saying no." Of course i'm in shock because i'm not used to him replying in such a manner.

2. My two youngest sons ages 1 and 3 were holding on to my 5 year old daughter. She tried and tried to get away, but once these boys get a grip they hold you against your will. My daughter asks them "Why are you boys holding on to me?" to which my 3 year old replies "Because i'm Superman!"

3. My 5 year old daughter "accidentally" kicked my 7 year old son. Of course he comes complaining to me and I tell her she needs to apologize. She doesn't like to apologize, so she always tries to prove that she's right so I try to intercept her arguing with me by saying "Well if you really did not mean to kick him you need to say nicely that you're sorry." In the sweetest little voice ever she says "Sorry." No sooner than I got a "Thank you" out before she abruptly yells at him "And you better not come in my room!!"

Monday, November 2, 2009

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs winner (how I select my winners)





(Congrats to Farmer's Wife!! I've contacted you through Twitter and hope to hear back soon so that I can ship your prize out to you.)

Please Pray for Johnny


He's currently in the hospital, unresponsive. I'm told my mom discovered he was not breathing and lacked a pulse. He's breathing on his own only a little.

Johnny is my cousin. Growing up, my mom would tell us little stories about Johnny. One being the time she was changing my oldest brother when he was a baby. Johnny noticed my brother's wee and replied "I got one of them!" Johnny is the child his mom longed to have. The only child she was blessed to carry in her own womb. He was born with scoliosis, which complicated his life, but he didn't let that get in the way of who he is. Although he's in his 40's, he doesn't look like he finished his twenties.

He'd just recently given me his number; earlier this year. Short but sweet conversations. Just a little call mostly to see how I was doing.

Around a couple months or so ago, I got a call stating that he wasn't doing well. He was in the hospital and not breathing on his own. He knew things were getting worse, his ribs were closing in on his lungs, but didn't want to have to go to the hospital and spend time there, so he didn't tell anyone I guess until he couldn't bear it anymore. We prayed and I asked Twitterworld to pray and guess what...he pulled through by God's grace. Further complications have gotten him back into the hospital in his current state, but we know that our lives are in God's hands and God defied the doctor's once before, when they thought the worst and gave up hope and we're believing in God to do it again! Please pray for Johnny and believe with us.