Pages

Sunday, February 28, 2010

Get Your Entries in for Great Prizes!

I just found out about some pretty neat prizes being given away over at Tech Savvy Mama a short while ago. The only catch? Entries close very soon; as in a few hours. Sorry I can't tell the exact time, as I skimmed the post a couple of times, but couldn't locate it, but according to this tweet, it's in the final hours. Prizes include a digital photo frame, a mini speaker, a heart rate monitor along with several others. Easy entries. Good luck!

Thursday, February 25, 2010

Strep Throat and Scarlet Fever


A closer look at what Scarlet Fever looks like. Described as sandpaper-like.

My baby, who was diagnosed with Scarlet Fever. Still a little puny, though trying to still be himself.



Somewhere around two weeks ago, my daughter got sick. Fever, chills, nausea and sore throat. When my boys managed to not get sick within the following couple of days, I thought they had finally escaped because when one gets sick, within a few hours or maybe a day at the most someone else would be sick too, until we were all covered. Except my husband of course who like never catches anything from anyone around here, through kisses and all. I credit his mom for feeding him onions and garlic and bell pepper in everything she cooks. He says, nope it's all the milk he drank coming up.

Well anyway, several days later my two oldest boys catch whatever this thing is. They started to get better and neither me nor my youngest son caught it. Yes! At least we'd escaped, or so I thought, again. When it seemed as though the dust settled and we were in bed around 3 nights ago now, I noticed my baby had gotten REALLY hot! I've been describing it as him feeling like an iron. And he probably could have cleared out some wrinkles, at least in a delicate garment. His little hands and feet felt like ice. I pulled out the meds and started administering. My hubby wanted to take him to the hospital, but I remember another time when my oldest was around 3 months old and his temp was high and they gave him meds and sent us on our way, so I decided not to. I soon thereafter noticed I was getting chills and my throat had slightly started to hurt. I geared up for the battle ahead.

The next day, my husband says that the baby has a rash. Okay, i'm not going to panic. We didn't bother about it so much. It wasn't SO bad. By the next day the rash had spread something fierce. After researching a little, my hubby says "I think he has scarlett fever." I thought this was not possible. We don't go out much, let alone being around someone who has scarlet fever, the ancient not heard of much disease. I mean, wouldn't he be so much worse off?

I was going to let him take him to the hospital alone, but my throat had gotten so bad, it hurt to even talk. I described it as feeling as if someone had cut [the inside] of my throat. It didn't take much insisting on his part to get me to go, and so we're off. Dr. comes in and looks at the baby and says, well (key words) the rash looks kind of like sand paper, so I think he has scarlet fever. She orders throat swabs for the both of us. Mine comes back positive for strep, and though strep and scarlet fever go hand in hand, I thank God to know my baby's test came back negative. I had no idea his ears were bothering him as well, because he hadn't been picking at them, but when they looked into them, they too were red. They administered some ear drops and very shortly thereafter he fell asleep.

We were both prescribed antibiotics, because strep can cause heart and kidney damage if left untreated. You can find information in this article on Answers.com. Stay healthy!

Photography on a Budget

I just watched this video over at I ♥ Faces and had to share. For anyone who loves to take pictures (like me), but can't afford all of the fancy professional stuff (also like me), this video offers some great tips. Enjoy and learn.

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Black Heritage Toys

The offer for me to review these product couldn't have come at a more appropriate time. As many of you already know, i'm a homeschooler, and i'm still new to it, as my oldest is just 7. It can be a challenge trying to squeeze in so much knowledge. As African Americans, I want my children to have knowledge of those who've come and gone, and those who yet remain, who have made great names for themselves. That's why i'm glad to be able to let you know about Black Heritage Toys.

The first product that I would like to talk about is the puzzle that we received. The age recommendation is from ages 3 and up. I like that the puzzle pieces are perfect for my children's little hands. My 3 year old thoroughly enjoyed helping his big brother and sister put this puzzle together, and trying to put it together on his own. The colors are very vibrant, and once it's together, the conversation comes naturally. This particular puzzle was one of President Obama, our nation's first African American president.

The second product that we received to review is the Black Heritage Trivia Game. The recommended ages are 7 and up. This game is challenging, but there is much to be learned. I learned some new things myself, and am glad to be able to introduce these facts to my children at such young ages. This is knowledge that they can take with them throughout their lives.

You can check out the full line up at Black Heritage Toys where you can find other games, toys and even resources for teachers.

*Disclosure: I am a member of Twittermoms where I found the offer to review these products. I did receive these products at no cost to me. I did not receive any additional compensation.

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Family Dance Off

Here's a Great contest brought to you by Primrose Schools. All you need to do is film a 30 second clip of your family dancing to your favorite songs and upload it to the Family Dance-off website. The sillier, the better! Then, get your friends and family to vote for your family’s video. If your video makes the cut, your family can have a chance to win some great prizes which include a $5,000 grand prize, a Wii Fit Bundle, a FLIP Video camera and get this... a $30,000 donation to your local Children’s Miracle Network hospital!! That is Very generous and it's going to help out children in your vicinity! The submission period ends on March 19, 2010, so get out those cameras and show us whatcha got!

Cake off for a Cause

Kelly Ripa and Electrolux have teamed up in the fight against ovarian cancer and you can help. By helping, you also stand a chance at winning a new Induction range. It's easy. All you have to do is head over to Kelly Confidential and vote in the cake-off or send a virtual cake to a friend. Everytime either of these is done, Electrolux donates $1 to the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund. If you're in the market for a new range, please consider an Electrolux because for every range purchased during the month of February, they will be donating $100 to the OCRF as well. The cake-off ends tomorrow, 2/19/10 and the sweepstakes ends 3/31/10.

Insure Your Love

To get Americans thinking about life insurance as an expression of enduring love, the nonprofit LIFE Foundation is sponsoring the Crazy4Love Photo Contest. From now until February 19, they’re asking people to share digital photos that demonstrate how they’ve expressed their love to the ones they love.

LIFE is interested in photos that capture the full range of emotions - from expressions of love that are crazy or embarrassing to ones that are romantic or tender. Your photo must be accompanied by a short caption - no more than 50 words - that describes what is particularly meaningful or memorable about the digitally captured, loving moment.

Please do hurry, as the deadline to submit your entry is TOMORROW, 2/19/2010

The Grand Prize winner, as determined by the LIFE Foundation, will receive a $1,000 Travelocity gift certificate toward a romantic getaway and 5 runners up will receive $100 American Express gift cards.

Free Burt Bee's Natural Toothpaste Samples...

Quick heads up that you can get a free sample of Burt Bee's Natural Toothpaste by clicking here. You do have to answer a few questions and sign up for their newsletter for your request to go through. Sign up as soon as possible if you're interested because quantities are limited!

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Winners!!

Make Time for Change (spin to win great prizes for your kids!)

Frigidaire and Jennifer Garner have teamed up to show support for Save the Children. As a result, you have a chance to win some great prizes with values ranging from $50 to $100 and a grand prize which is a brand new Frigidaire Affinity washer and dryer set. How are you helping? Everyday that you take a spin, Frigidaire donates $1 to Save the Children. Prize winners are drawn each day and grand prize winners are drawn each month until the contest closes 11:59 pm est on 4/26/10. You can check it out, help out and stand a chance to win by clicking here: Make Time for Change

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Denny's First 500,000 Get Free Burger and Fries

I was just on Facebook and saw an update from Denny's stating that the first 500,000 to sign up for Denny's Rewards get a coupon for a free burger and fries coupon via email on February 28th. Don't know how many are left, but they said that there are still some left. Sign up here before it's too late.

Break it Down Boy!



This moment is brought to you by I♥Faces. They're having a little contest where you upload a picture to your blog with someone dancing, which is just what Diesel is doing.

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Finally After (almost) 9 Years!!



I've been married to my husband for going on 9 years. I've always ranted about him not buying me flowers. Don't get me wrong, he'll grab me a box of chocolates easily, but i've just always wanted him to do the flower thing. Seriously, it's just been a here and there thing, seemingly more as a result of my complaining. I mean, he'd say like "Oh yeah, i'm gonna get you some flowers," but i'd always intercept letting him know that I wanted it to be a surprise and not just because I mentioned it. I wanted it to happen at that time I was least expecting it. So, Friday comes (this past Friday) and he calls me downstairs after he gets in from work. My oldest son is on his way down too and I noticed he didn't want him to come down, so i'm thinking he has some sort of surprise for the kids that he didn't want them to know about yet. There on the table are these BEAUTIFUL pink ROSES and the cutest little teddy bear and some chocolates. He Finally did it. He got me flowers (awwwwww). And it was totally unexpected. So this shout out is to my honey, the love of my life....

♥ Baby, I love You ♥

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Design an Outfit for Serena and You May Win















I just found out about this contest this evening while on Facebook. Week 1 voting starts tomorrow, so get your entry in as soon as possible. Grand Prize is $5000. Good Luck.

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

Announcing the EcoStoreUSA.com Winner!!!

Monday, February 8, 2010

Happy Birthday My Princess



You are my princess. My one and only daughter. I love you. You don't know it right now, but I do know that you are trying to be like me. I watch you as you imitate many things that I do. You are also starting to hang around me a little bit more. I only hope that I can be the best example for you, as you imitate me, and help steer you in the direction to be a strong young woman. I love you and hope to be there for you as you continue to grow older. Happy 6th birthday mama (1 day late).

You Can Win a Seagate FreeAgent Dockstar

This is another giveaway being held over at the Vanilla Joy website. I won't go into too many details, but will let you know that if you like taking pictures and uploading/sharing them online, this is a giveaway that you very well may want to look into. Do hurry, because this giveaway ends midnight tonight!! Good luck!



While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.Obaji Skin Care
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language

Friday, February 5, 2010

"Sitting At The Feet of Rabbi Jesus" book review

If I had to describe this book in two words they would be "Life Changing." I wanted to review this book, because i've had this desire to get to know more about what life was like during the time of Jesus. What were the traditions like. Why Jesus said and did things in the way that He did. What I didn't realize was that having a better understanding from the way the authors so passionately put this book together, was going to forever change some of my ways of thinking.

"Sitting at the Feet of Rabbi Jesus" was written by Ann Spangler and Lois Tverberg. I have truly enjoyed this book, because with each chapter, i've learned something that I didn't already know and I really feel enlightened and have a desire to learn more. This is one of those books I just didn't want to ever end. This book reminded me that God isn't far away, but He's intimately close and is concerned about me. It's made me want to study scripture, and put more focus on the Old Testament and helped me to realize that the Old Testament is what Jesus had to live by when He arrived on this earthly scene. It sheds new light on praying, reminding me to be thankful and prayerful to God our Father, when things are going well and not so well. It also shows how Jesus prayed, and therefore how we should pray as we follow in His footsteps.

I've enjoyed sharing some new things with several of my family members and hearing the delight in their voices concerning this very book. It will be hard for me to pass it along, but I know that they would like to read it for themselves, and it's something I know will be useful in their spiritual journey in getting to better understand God's word and the Jewish traditions during the lifetime of Jesus. This book is to me what "The Purpose Driven Life" was to so many. I wish I had a copy to pass along to every Christian that I meet, because this truly is a tool, a step, to get you further along in your Christian walk. I would pass along copies to pastors as well as lay members because it is my honest opinion that Christians on every "level" can benefit from this book.

I would like to point out a couple of little parts that were hard for me to accept, and those were the times where one was encouraged to express the anger he felt towards God and also another time where one of the authors described a time where she was angry with God. Though in the end they both ended up looking back at themselves after realizing the love God has for us.

This book is available at Amazon.com. You can check out other reviews there, as well as purchase the book there.



*Disclosure: I did request a copy of the book in order to provide a review. The review is in my own words and I was not further compensated. The links that are included are affiliate links.

Monday, February 1, 2010

Win an UltraGold Bakeware Set from Vanilla Joy

I won't give you all of the details of her review, but i'll tell you that I was sold when she mentioned heats evenly. A feature I would love to have for my baking needs. You can win this lovely set at the Vanilla Joy Website. Good luck!


While you're there be sure to check out:
1.Craft Room Organization
2.Creative Date Ideas
3.Obaji Skin Care
4.Scrapbooking Furniture
5.Teaching Baby Sign Language