Pages

Monday, March 29, 2010

HotLocks Dolls Review and Giveaway #win



My daughter was SO excited when I let her know that we were selected to host a HotLocks Dolls party. We invited some cousins and friends (and moms) and had a blast. For those of you who've not yet heard of HotLocks dolls, they're adorable dolls with really long hair. 14 inches long to be exact. They come with barettes and styling combs unless of course you purchase the Deluxe Dolls which come with additional accesories.

Before they got to choose which doll would be theirs, I read off the personalities, and had the girls choose which one they could identify with best. We had a hair styling competition to see what styles they could come up with and also they identified things about themselves that they liked and areas where they felt they could use improvement. This fit along with the theme of the HotLocks Dolls, because their highlights and lowlights are pointed out on the box, which is great because it reminds them that no one is perfect.

I have a Lily doll to give away to one of my blog readers. Mandatory entry: Visit the HotLocks Dolls page and let me know which one you think your daughter (or neice or granddaughter etc.) can most closely relate to and leave a comment below letting me know.

Other ways to enter (please leave a comment for each):

2. Follow this blog publicly with Google friend connect
3. Follow me on Twitter and tweet this up to 4 times a day:
Win Lily, one of the new HotLocks dolls: http://tinyurl.com/yagg4m2 @comefollowme. Ends 4/18.
4.Become a facebook fan of my page.
5. Post this to your wall on facebook:
Win HotLocks Doll Lily: http://tinyurl.com/yagg4m2

Open only to residents within the 48 contiguous U.S. states.

Disclosure: I received Hot Locks dolls and accesories from BSM media to host a party. I was not further compensated and the views/opinions expressed are my own.

New From Digiorno: Pizza & Breadsticks (review)



Who doesn't love pizza? My family sure does. It's something we normally do around once a month at least, if not more. But it can get quite costly, and don't even mention adding breadsticks and drinks.

We were accepted to host a Housparty for the new Digiorno's Pizza and Breadsticks. Yup, it comes as a combo pack! I'd tried Digiorno's in the past, but now I have a reason and opportunity to share my thoughts on it. We enjoyed it much. We enjoyed the convenience of being able to go right to the freezer and pop it into the oven. It's done in around 21 minutes, which still beats the time that many delivery guys would make, and at around $7.00 rounded up, at least where I live, the price obviously wins, hands down compared to delivery. No tips to pay either.

Unlike many competitors, it does have a "fresh baked" taste. One of my guests said she was definitely going to be buying it again. It was a winner with the children we had over as well. The varieties that we tried were the Supreme, Pepperoni, and cheese. The breadsticks come in garlic and herb or cheese and did I mention that they even added the marinara sauce?? I'm a cheesy type of gal, so these were my favorite.

Thanks to Digiorno, we have a more affordable and delicious option when it comes to pizza night!

*Disclosure: As a Housparty member I completed an application to host this party and was accepted. In exchange I received coupons to get free Digiorno Pizza and Breadsticks along with other gifts to furnish my party and coupons to hand out to my guests. I was not further compensated. The opinions expressed are mine.

Yoplait Greek Yogurt Gift Pack Giveaway #win




My family and I are already fans of Yoplait Yogurt, so when I was asked if i'd like to be able to try out their new Greek variety I jumped at the chance. Yoplait Greek Yogurt comes in four awesome flavor varieties which include Strawberry, Blueberry, Honey Vanilla and Plain.

This thick, creamy and flavorful yogurt comes packed with 12 grams of protein, which is twice the amount found in leading yogurts. Yoplait is offering a coupon*, where you can save $0.30 off of a cup so that you can experience the taste for yourself. You can get yours here.

One of you is going to win an awesome prize pack to pamper yourself. It has several great items and also includes 2 coupons for free Yoplait Greek Yogurt. I especially like the towel which has velcro closures, which means no more having to worry about tucking just right and risking having your towel fall off. I couldn't help but wonder why someone hadn't thought of that before.

For a Mandatory entry let me know in a comment below which flavor of the four I listed you'd like to try most.

Other ways to enter (please leave a comment for each):

2. Follow this blog publicly with Google friend connect
3. Follow me on Twitter and tweet this up to 4 times a day:
Enter to win a Yoplait Greek Yogurt Prize Pack: http://tinyurl.com/ydzukky @comefollowme. Ends 4/12.
4.Become a facebook fan of my page.
5. Post this to your wall on facebook:
Win a Yoplait Greek Yogurt prize pack: http://tinyurl.com/ydzukky

Entries will close on April 12 and a winner randomly selected.

*Coupon not available to residents of California, Idaho, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, North Dakota, and Tennessee.

Disclosure: I received free product, information, and gift pack from Yoplait through MyBlogSpark. No other compensation was provided.

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Win A ZIGO



Quick heads up about a contest going on across 10 different sites for one great prize, a Zigo of your own. You can enter at each site for more chances to win, but there will be only one prize awarded is my understanding. You only have until April 5 at midnight est for a shot to win, so be sure to check out these sites before the deadline:

Jolly Mom

Baby Elan Daily

Go Graham Go

Happy Hour Mom

Urban Sherp

Rave and Review

Seeryus Mama

Mommies With Cents

Classy Mommy

My Four Monkeys

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Join Land's End and iexplore.com for a Fun Filled Twitter Event. Prizes to be Won!!!

Join Lands' End and representatives from the Islands Of The Bahamas and iexplore.com for a Twitter Event to celebrate the Lands' End's Bahamas Adventure to Harbour Island promotion at The Hub www.landsend.com/thehub. The site features engaging content focusing on travel through the summer as well as the chance to win a trip for four to the pink-sand beaches of Harbour Island.

Be a part of this exciting Twitter Event and tweet with representatives from Lands' End, the Islands Of The Bahamas and iexplore.com. The event will feature more than 25 fun giveaways ranging from Lands' End luggage, beach towels, travel kits, beach bags and gift cards.

Details:

When: Wednesday, March 24, 2010
Time: 7:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. CST
Tweet using #landsend and follow @LEprMichele, @LEprMolly, @LEprLibby, @VisitTheBahamas, @iexplore and @iexplore_Amanda

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Giveaway ending VERY soon!! As in midnight est!!

I was on Facebook and found a giveaway that's going on for some natural beauty products. Looks like they're exclusively sold at Kroger and they're known as Mirra Beauty Products. If you catch this post in time and would like to enter, check out One Big Pyle of Love blog and get your entries in. Good Luck!

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

Win a Barnes and Noble Nook

I wish I had one. I wish I had one to give away. But I don't. I know who does. Wanna win one? You can have a chance to win a Barnes and Noble Nook if you check out The Greer 5 blog. Hurry though, because entries close on 3/22/2010. Good Luck!

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Please Vote For Us...



Back about a month or so ago, I put up a post letting everyone know about a family dance off contest. Well i've finally captured some footage and finally got our entry in. I'm just wondering if you'll take a quick minute and sign up to vote for us. The direct link is here: http://familydanceoff.com/index/gallery/1/175/desc.html. Votes are allowed daily if you find yourself with a moment to spare. It took a little figuring out for me, but it is easy. All you have to do once you register is click on the video that's entitled "How We Do Fun" Phelps/Syner and click on vote that shows up underneath the video. Thanks in advance.

Monday, March 15, 2010

My Passion...

In response to the the hypothetical situation: Electrical storms are going to wipe out the Internet (perhaps forever)I want to let you know my passion (you know, so you know how I feel if something like this would happen) (you know) (hypothetically).

My passion, as i'm sure matches the passion of hopefully everyone out there, is my family. I have four children, whom I love dearly, and want nothing but the best for them. That's why I chose to be a stay at home mom.

Well, I made this decision long before I had children. As a teenager, a freshman in high school, I lost a nephew to a careless babysitter. Along life's road I also lost a cousin, whose father was adopted. His father had just recently found us as long lost family and introduced us to his family. The young life of his own son was another lost to the carelessness of a babysitter. I know that all babysitters aren't this way, but after lightning struck twice, well let me just say that i'm sure the trauma would have the same effect on you as it had for me.

So, if the internet was wiped away (perhaps forever) by electrical storms, I want the blogosphere to know that as long as my children are safe and i'm able to be there for them, and have a husband that stands behind me and makes this possible for us and we have our Great and mighty God ultimately making this all possible, i'll be just fine!

This blog post is in response to the Mabel's Labels contest that's awarding a fantastic prize which includes an expense paid trip to the Blogher 2010 conference and a year's worth of paid blogging over at their site.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Nikon Pictures Wilton Cookies and a Recipe from an Aunt






So I got this recipe from my aunt when we passed through Shreveport after taking our long awaited trip to Louisiana to visit my mother in law. We arrived apparently not long after she'd baked them, and I turned down her offer to give me one, because she'd baked them for her church and had already given one to each of my children, so she was already 4 short. I asked her if she made them from a recipe, to which she replied yes and gave me a copy right away.

I finally made these cookies after handing out copies of the recipe myself, and it is a nice twist on ordinary chocolate chip cookies. I used my fairly new Nikon Coolpix L100, which was also purchased during our visit, to photograph these freshly baked goodies. I baked them in my new Wilton cookie sheet, one of several Wilton pans which are now regulars also.

If you'd like to try these out for yourself, here's the recipe which i've halved, and you can double if you want to make somewhere around 112 cookies.

1 cup (2 sticks) butter softened to room temperature
12 oz chocolate chips
2 cups flour
1 cup brown sugar
1 tsp soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup white sugar
4 oz hershey bar grated (a little more than half of the giant one)
2 and 1/2 cups oatmeal grounded to a fine powder (I used our food processor)
2 eggs
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1 and 1/2 cups chopped nuts of your choice

Preheat your oven to 375. If you haven't already, go ahead and grind that oatmeal to a fine powder first. Set aside. Cream butter and both sugars. Add eggs and vanilla. In a separate bowl mix your flour, oatmeal, salt, baking powder and baking soda. Slowly get this mixed into your creamed butter and sugar mixture until it's mixed well. Add the chocolate chips, grated hershey bar and nuts. Roll your cookie dough into balls and place them about 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet (as you can probably tell from the pictures, I made them about 2 bite sized). Bake for 10 minutes, remove and cool them. Enjoy!

Monday, March 8, 2010

My Job Chart. An Exciting (free) Site That Teaches Kids to Work

It's not always easy trying to figure out a reward system for good behavior. I'm a mom of four young ones and i've been trying to figure one out myself. I've not yet been able to come up with one that i've liked everything about and stuck with it. How much money do you give them at this age? What chores are age appropriate? How often should they be rewarded? Well I received an invitation from BSM Media regarding a reward program that really does ease my mind when it comes to just this whole reward for chores thing. And one of the best things about it is that it's free. The site is called My Job Chart.

What's so great about My Job Chart? Well where do I begin? I really love the way the whole thing works. When you set up your account, you can put pictures of each of your family members, including mom and dad, and each gets his or her own password. That way as they finish a chore, they can sign in under themselves and check a box for the chore that they've completed. Chores include things like making their beds, cleaning their rooms and brushing their teeth. They can be set for everyday or certain days and you can even choose whether they should be done in the morning, evening or both. You can use the chores that are there already, and even add your own! It's set up so that they earn points, which can be used in a fully customizable store. They redeem their points for rewards that you choose, such as computer time, going out to eat, family game night, and the list goes on. Again, you can add your own rewards. You can even change the pictures for the chores and rewards if you so choose.

I like the fact that I can receive texts or emails notifying me as they finish chores and also when they've selected a reward. I can add bonus tasks so that they can earn bonus points and also there's a place for me to send them a note of encouragement, letting them know how proud I am of them for completing their chores.

I could already see my children's enthusiasm. My Job Chart teaches responsibility in a way that makes kids want to do their chores. I can see this working years down the road, as they get older because of how customizable it is. It's given me more peace of mind because it helped me explore other ways to reward our children, besides giving them money as an only reward. I know that I can always go and change things up to suit my needs if they aren't working out the way I want them to. I highly recommend it to anyone with children.

*Disclosure: I received the opportunity to sign up for and review this site in exchange for a gift card from BSM Media.

Calling All Chocolate Lovers Baskin Robbins Raspberry Truffle a-la mode Review





If you're a chocolate lover have I got news for you! As a part of the Twittermoms community, I found a message up on the board inviting bloggers to sample Baskin Robbins new Raspberry Truffle a-la mode (pictured above). Well actually I could have tried their Brownie a-la mode, if i'd so chosen, but decided that I already know that brownies are delicious, and so I wanted to try something different. I also had family over for the experience. When my brother tasted it, he noticed right away that it's rich. He'd only tasted about the top two layers. After about the second bite he was saying how really good it is. You have to get a little bit of every layer in your mouth to get the full gist of it. The flavors are perfectly paired to compliment each other. The same thing happened with my sister, who at first thought that she wasn't wowed by it, but when she got to taste everything together, I think it's safe to say that she'd changed her mind. I personally liked it too. It's chocolately, chewy, crunchy, sweet, cool goodness with a layer of raspberry. I'd do it all over again.

*Disclosure I received gift certificates so that I could be able to try this out at no charge to me. I did not receive any other form of compensation and the opinions expressed are those of mine and of family.

Sunday, March 7, 2010

Oscar Party Recipes Plus a Delicious Recipe for Chocolate Chip Walnut Blondies







Read more: http://www.sheblogs.org/2010/03/oscars-party-blogger-giveaway/comment-page-2/#comment-1931#ixzz0hV3PKMYj

Filling:
2 eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 sticks unsalted butter melted
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup chopped walnuts
1 prepared deep-dish piecrust

Preheat oven to 325.

Mix eggs, flour, both sugars, butter and vanilla. Add in chocolate chips and walnuts. Pour into piecrust. You may want to put the piecrust on a baking sheet if it's really full because it will drip. Bake for 1 hour or until it's set (usually takes longer than an hour for me, maybe more like an hour and twenty minutes). This is one of those things that tastes even better when it's completely cooled or even the next day. Serve with ice cream and hot fudge, or chocolate shell

Friday, March 5, 2010

So What Do I Do?

My daughter, 6 years old, is tired of being the only girl. And this is not new, but as of lately she's complaining that she's lonely and wants a sister. I don't think i'm up to the challenge of putting my body through that again, and don't think we can afford adoption. It's gotten to the point that she wants me to sleep in her room with her.

I can see where she's coming from. She's surrounded by boys. Three of them. They can be rough at times, and while she will hold hers down, she still enjoys all things girly. Wearing bracelets, carrying a purse, pink things, tea parties with her little tea set and such, and well you got the picture. She has girl cousins that she spends time with here and there, but I guess it's nothing compared to having your own little sister to be with you all of the time, wanting to take share everything. Doesn't she see what her brothers already go through with each other?

I can't blame her still. I had three younger sisters, and even through all of everything we put each other through, there's nothing like having a sister of your own. Someone to tell things to that you can't tell your brothers or anyone else for that matter. So my question is what do I do? How do I handle this situation? It's to the point where she's even asked if she could be my daughter/sister!

Free Sunchips Coupon to first 100,000!! Hurry!

Was just checking out Deal Seeking Mom and found a post that says the first 100,000 participants that fan Sun Chips on facebook can sign up to get a coupon for a bag of Sunchips. For those of you who've not yet tried them, they're a healthier and delicious alternative to other fried chips.

Monday, March 1, 2010

Pimp My Laundry Room (enter to win!)



I just received exciting news of this contest going on being held by Wisk. As the title suggests, someone is going to have the opportunity to have their laundry room made over! Entering is as easy as creating a short video between now and March 29,2010 explaining why you deserve a laundry room makeover. For the full rules and to enter, check out the LaundryHe website. Good Luck!

*By way of disclosure i've partnered with BSM Media for a Wisk contest with product giveaway