Pages

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Quick Reminder....Only Three Days Left to Enter These Giveaways!!!

$40 to CSN Stores
$40 giftcard to CSN stores ends 5/30

An 18x24 Custom Wall Graphic (using a picture of your choice) from Uprinting.com
 18x24 Wall Graphic from Uprinting.com ends 5/30

Saturday, May 22, 2010

Suave Mango Mandarin Bodywash Winner...



Congrats to karenmed409! I'll be in touch so I can get this prize shipped out to you!

Don't forget these giveaways ending soon:

1. $40 giftcard to CSN stores ends 5/30
2. 18x24 Wall Graphic from Uprinting.com ends 5/30

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Find Out How You Can Get Free Shipping from Linens 'N Things

Linens 'N Things


This is a Sponsored Post written by me on behalf of Linens 'N Things. All opinions are 100% mine.


Upon doing just a little browsing at the Linens 'N Things website, i've determined that it's a great site to check out for home furnishings. The word contemporary comes to mind. I mean they have a little bit of everything to furnish your home from your yard to your dining room to your bedrooms.

My bathroom needs a serious makeover. I would love to get everything color coordinated and just more eye catching. I was checking out some of their decor, and had a hard time deciding, because there are so many lovely things, but decided that I do like this setup:




It's just really simple, and I guess my husband could deal with it since it's not too feminine. I mean if not, there are definitely some other choices that are a little more gender neutral that I could definitely see myself working with, and we'd both be happy.

I also checked out some of their bedding and i'm also impressed with the assortment there. Again, a wide variety of eye-catching contemporary designs. And did I mention name brand?

They even have a clearance section with items that have huge markdowns. I'm all about looking to save a few bucks, so of course the very word clearance caught my attention.

Right now Linens 'N Things is offering readers of Human Christian free shipping on orders of $26 or more using coupon code: MOMBLOG. This coupon expires June 1, 2010, so be sure to take advantage of this offer before it's too late.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

More on the Link Between Pesticides and ADHD

Tuesday, May 18, 2010

Playtex Bra Makeover...Find Out How You Can Win..

Do slipping straps, riding up backs, or not enough support have you ready to write a Dear John letter to your old bras? Apply for a Bra Makeover from Playtex! Seven out of 10 women are wearing the wrong size bra, which can result in an ill fit for the rest of their outfit, back and shoulder pain, as well as bruising and digging. 
 
We know that busy moms don't always have time to update their bras or even check to make sure they are wearing the correct size. That's why we wanted to let you know about this contest from Playtex! Playtex recently launched www.PlaytexBraMakeover.com, a site where women can go to apply for a bra makeover or nominate a friend. If chosen, the winner will be flown to New York to receive a Bra Makeover with style expert Alison Deyette. Deyette is a fashion and trend lifestyle expert who has been featured on Bravo's Millionaire Matchmaker and TLC's Ten Years Younger, as well as in print publications including Good HousekeepingThe Washington Post, and O Magazine. Apply for your chance to win a Playtex Bra Makeover today. The last day to apply is Friday May 21, 2010.
 
The 10 winners selected for a Bra Makeover will also star in their very own webisode wherein a makeover candidate will receive a fitting with Deyette and walk away with the perfect Playtex products. A new webisode will premier on  every two weeks.



*Disclosure: By posting this information, I am entered into a contest to win a free bra from Playtex. I did not receive any compensation for this post and thoughts and opinions expressed are my own

Monday, May 17, 2010

Freschetta Pizza Coupon Winner Announced...



Congrats to Mad-Rosie. Don't forget to check out the other 3 giveaways going on, but ending soon which include Suave Mango Mandarin body wash which ends 5/20, a $40 giftcard to CSN stores ending 5/30 and an 18x24 wall graphic also ending 5/30!!

Monday, May 10, 2010

#Freschetta Pizza...A Review and Giveaway #Win

Freschetta FlatBread

This is a Sponsored Post written by me on behalf of Freschetta. All opinions are 100% mine.



Mention the word pizza at my house and everyone's happy. That includes mom. I mean, aside from my not having to slave over a  hot stove, it's a crowd pleaser. When we went out shopping for this pizza to be able to do this review I was amazed at the varieties. We were at one freezer and had made our selections, but we went down a couple more freezers and there were even more. We ended up exchanging some of the ones we had already picked out for some others. There are selections for meat lovers as well as vegetarians. From naturally rising to flatbread crusts.

The first pizza, I didn't get more than a bite. My husband took it out of the oven, just slightly overcooked, and cut it and before I knew it, my children had claimed about 2 slices each. I did asked them how they liked it, and they said it was great. On to pizza number two. My husband popped it into the oven and set the timer, but somehow it ended up somewhat over-cooked too. I don't know if it was just our oven, or if we needed to do the minimum time recommendation, so based on it being too done, I can't give a decent thought on it, but what I can give an honest review on is the one above. It's the Portabella Mushroom with Spinach Pizza that Freschetta makes.  I put this one in the oven myself. I had to tweet about it, because when I removed it from the packaging, it already looked delicious before it was even baked. I set the timer, and I guess my son opened the oven , before the timer went off, and let me know it was done. I would recommend that if you're setting a timer, to use the minimum baking time.

As you can see from the picture above, we caught this one just at the right time. The crust was the perfect combination of crispiness with a bit of tenderness. I wouldn't have thought of putting mushrooms and spinach together, but i'm so glad the folks at Freschetta did. It's an awesome combination. I wanted to save my husband a piece, because he was set to come home from work a short while later. I thought I wanted him to be able to try it too, but I wanted it for myself and gave him a call and talked him out of it, so that he wouldn't come home disappointed that I didn't save him any. Before he could say it was ok good, i'd picked it up, even before I got off of the phone with him, and started eating. I didn't want him to have time to change his mind. Maybe next time. Maybe.

You can download a coupon for $1 off of any Freschetta Pizza variety here. There are so many varieties, i'm sure there's one to suit you.

You can also win not one, but TWO coupons for free Freschetta Pizza! Sound good to you? This giveaway won't last long, because these coupons expire 5/31, and I want to be able to get them out to the winner in enough time. Well let's get this ball rolling.

Mandatory Entry
Check out the varieties offered by Freschetta and let me know which one you think you'd like to try. Leave a comment below letting me know which one it is.

Extra Entries
1. Follow me through Google Friend Connect
2. Follow me on twitter and tweet:
Win Free #Freschetta Pizza: http://tinyurl.com/2dnas4x
3. Become a Facebook Fan of Human Christian
4. Subscribe to this blog via email or RSS


This contest will close 5/16 at which time a winner will be randomly selected.


Sunday, May 9, 2010

The Case of the Missing Keys

The last time I remembered seeing my keys was when my sister asked to borrow them because she thought she'd locked hers in her car (I have a copy of hers). I remembered her returning them, but don't recall seeing them anymore since then (until today, but i'll get there. This was approximately 2 months ago now.

I'd given up. I had caught my 2 year old dropping things outside of the screen. Maybe he'd somehow got them to fit through that hole too? Well, I checked. And while I did find a marker, a Magic Jack and some other small items, the keys were not there. I just wrote them off as having been thrown away by him, and decided i'd depend on my husband's set until he decided to make another copy of all of his keys for me.

Today comes, as we're readying ourselves for church. Deuce and Diamond get into an argument about who the cardboard dice belongs to. The one that came in the kid's meal that they don't play with anyway. An argument that started several days ago, and for some reason couldn't wait at least until after church. I don't know exactly what Deuce was looking for when he went to look underneath the wooden displays in our kitchen, but he found my keys. HE Found My Keys. I'd looked up and down, high and low, here and there, thought about offering a reward, and completely given up on them. My keys once lost, now found.

#Win a $40 Gift Card to CSN Stores

If you're shopping for household items, CSN Stores looks to be a one stop shop. Over 200 stores as a matter of fact, that include items to furnish every room of your home. Whether you're looking to just color coordinate with items such as curtains and towels, or you need to do some major overhauling with others such as bathroom vanities to flooring and everything in between.











I would also like to clue you in on a contest going on where someone will win a $10,000 eco-friendly bathroom makeover! The contest is here and ends 7/30/2010.



...And speaking of giveaways, CSN Stores has allowed me to host a giveaway in which one of you will win $40 to spend on whatever you want. It can be used anyway you would like, within the $40 range (including shipping) or towards a larger purchase.



Mandatory Entry



Leave a comment below letting me know what you would like to makeover in your home. It can be anything such as a new tablecloth to match your kitchen curtains or a new bedrooms set.



Extra Entries

Be sure to leave a separate comment for each entry



1. Check out the CSNStores website and leave a comment with a direct link to any item that you like on their site (just copy and paste as a comment)



2. Follow me via Google Friend connect



3. Follow me on twitter and tweet:

Win a $40 giftcard to CSN Stores: http://tinyurl.com/287qzd6



4. Become a of Human Christian



5. Subscribe by email or RSS



This contest will close 5/30 at 11:59 pm cst and is open to US residents only.



*Disclosure: CSN Stores is the sponsor of this giveaway and they are providing the $40 giftcard to the winner. No further compensation has been received.

Happy Mother's Day




To all the mothers and mothers to be, I would like to wish you a Happy Mother's Day!

Today:

We got up this morning and went to morning service. We were late to Sunday School, but nonetheless caught the end of it. I hate being late especially for my childrens' sake, because they learn so much, even when I think i've covered just about every Old Testament story with them, i'm constantly finding out i've missed something. Our Pastor's wife was the speaker and she talked about the book of Ruth, and showed us how it compared to her life.

After she finished, little bags were handed out to the moms with handkerchiefs in them that say Yes, Lord! true woman, along with chocolate mints and a hershey's kiss. I'm supposing it was the men's department that bought the carnations for the mother's.

After arriving back home, we took the children to my dad's and my husband and I went out and picked up a few things from the grocery store and had a speed date consisting of coffee and brownies at the coffee shop.

So here we are now, back at home with our children, back to life as we know it. It really is great being a mom. It has it's trying times, but thank God we can always bounce back. I heard it only gets better. Here's to looking forward to the years to come.

As a final reminder, today is the last day to enter to win an Apple Ipad. One is being given away at a blog about Iphone Apps for Kids and you can win it just by blogging about it.

Image courtesy of FreeFoto

Saturday, May 8, 2010

Extreme Makeover...Blog Edition

How do you like it I guess would be a good question. I'm just really picky when it comes to these things, and the old one was just becoming an eye sore. I just couldn't stand it anymore. I do have a few more things that I have to tweak, but well, at least the main part is done.

If you have blogger and haven't yet heard of it, I want to let you in on how you can change your blog up if you'd like. Just go to draft.blogger.com/ and then click on layout on the blog that you want to change. Up on the left hand side underneath the tabs, you'll see "Template Designer." If you play around with it, you'll find that you can change the number of columns, which I just thought was totally awesome (I had to search hacks and paste in codes to get a third row before). You also have several background choices. There's just so much you can do. No technical skills required. It's SUPER easy and you can even get a preview before you apply it so you can see if it's what you really want. I would like to advise you, though, to copy your current CSS code which you'll find under Edit HTML before you get started just in case you want to revert back to your current template. Lastly i'd like to point out the fact that there's no need to worry about your widgets or followers or anything, they will stay there unless you take them out.

Reminder: Tomorrow is the last day to enter to win an Apple Ipad. One is being given away at a blog about Iphone Apps for Kids and you can win it just by blogging about it.

Friday, May 7, 2010

Starbucks Happy Hour.....




"Come to a participating Starbucks between 3 and 5 p.m., and enjoy a half-price Frappuccino® blended beverage.

Feel like getting a head start on happiness? You can create your own favorite Frappuccino® blended beverage right here. Share it with your friends and invite them to meet you. Starbucks is celebrating Happy Hour from now until May 16.

One per customer, U.S. & Canada stores only. Void where prohibited. Cannot be combined with other offers or discounts
"

There are still 2 more days to enter to win an Apple Ipad. One is being given away at a blog about Iphone Apps for Kids and you can win it just by blogging about it.

Thursday, May 6, 2010

Nominate a Deserving Class for an Inspiring Experience

This is a Sponsored Post written by me on behalf of Lunchables. All opinions are 100% mine.






Watching the video kinda takes you back to your childhood right? Well it did for me. Field trips, which were always fun, informative and much looked forward to for me.

What I liked even more were the children's expressions. They were so convinced that they were communicating with real aliens. They were all so attentive, looking forward to learning new things and being informed. Can you see where i'm going with this? Field trips get kids excited about learning. They open doors and expand the horizons of a child's imagination. They show children that there's a big world with so many possibilities.

According to a 2009 report from The American Association of School Administrators, it’s estimated that over the course of the current school year, the number of school districts eliminating field trips will increase by 56 percent. That’s more than 30,000 schools.

Lunchables Lunch combinations wants to help kids across the country go on an inspiring, educational experience, and so they've launched a a program called "Field Trips For All. Their goal is to empower kids with opportunities to help them reach their full potential by empowering the with enriching experiences that they may otherwise not have.

How can you get involved? Well if you're 6 years old or older, you can nominate a classroom that you think deserves such an experience by going to http://www.lunchables.com/potential/.50 classrooms will be selected from these nominations.

Nominate a classroom that you think is deserving. Spread the word to your friends. Please feel free to leave a comment below on who you've nominated.

Field Trips For All

Click Here



#Win a 18x24 Custom Wall Graphic



Correction: I have been informed that the Wall Graphic is 18x24

This giveaway is being brought to you by UPrinting.com, and it's for a Wall Graphic that you can customize with a picture of your choice.

I bought a canvas in the past, but the thing with those is that you'd better get that nail in the right place the first time or be ready to settle for a lopsided picture or several holes in your wall. Personally, i'm pretty terrible with a hammer and nails. Stickers are pretty great too, but again, you'd better set it right the first time, or else prepare to have it hanging lopsided or risk tearing it when trying to take it down to reposition it. The perfect solution would be a Wall Graphic. No nails, and therefore no holes in your walls, and if you don't stick it just right, you can keep moving it until it's positioned to your liking. AND it doesn't have to stay in the same place forever.

That's why I think this giveaway is so cool! One of you is going to win a Wall Graphic for which you can upload a picture of your choice! First, though, let me tell you about some other great services of the guys over at Uprinting. They also offer Color Printing, 1 business day turnaround, and free UPS ground shipping! They have a wide assortment of products, and in my opinion, there's something for everyone!

The Giveaway
As a Mandatory Entry browse the UPrinting site and leave a comment below telling me one of their other products that you would find useful in your personal or business life.

Extra entries (please leave a separate comment for each):
1. Become a public follower through Google Friend connect
2. Follow me on twitter
3. Share this giveaway on Twitter with a link back to this post. You can use this if you'd like:
Win a Customized Wall Graphic: http://tinyurl.com/23zrnta
4. Become a of this site

This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only. Entries will be accepted until 5/30 11:59 pm cst.

*Disclosure: This giveaway is being sponsored by UPrinting.com. I have been given the option of accepting a Blogger Appreciation prize if i'd like. No further compensation has been provided.

Pizza Hut...Dinner is Covered



As a member of MomSelect my family received a $25 giftcard to Pizza Hut. As a family of 6 we added an additional $5 to that and had leftovers! I love what Pizza Hut has done with their menu options because it has made a night off for mom much more affordable! They have great specials which include $10 large pizzas with get this...any toppings! This includes the Specialty Pizzas! Who else offers this? We're big wing fans and love the fact that Pizza Hut offers 50¢ wing Wednesdays! Again, who else has an offer like this? I have to take a moment to shout out to John as well. He was our waiter and he was extraordinary! Every Pizza Hut should have a John. So, mom, need a night off? Give Pizza Hut a call and reward yourself without paying an arm and a leg. You deserve it!

*Disclosure: MomSelect sent my family a $25 giftcard to Pizza Hut to facilitate this review. The opinions are my own. John really was great.

#Win the New Mango Mandarin Bodywash from Suave



The video gives you an idea of how I feel about this bodywash. In case you didn't watch, it's great. I love the scent of it, and guess what? The prices are still extremely affordable! With such nice frangrances and such low prices, who can resist?

As a member of MomSelect, i've been privileged yet again to offer a bottle of the new Suave Mango Mandarin Bodywash to one of you, my readers. I really do wish I could insert a scratch and sniff right here, but since that's not possible, let me tell you that I do believe you're gonna love this one! Let me also get into how you can win it!

Mandatory entry:
Leave a comment below letting me know a scent that takes you back to a memorable time in your life.

Extra entries (please leave a separate comment for each):
1. Become a public follower through Google Friend connect
2. Follow me on twitter
3. Share this giveaway on Twitter with a link back to this post. You can use this if you'd like:
Win Suave's new Mango Mandarin Bodywash: http://tinyurl.com/2f32fpz
4. Become a of this site

This giveaway is open to residents of the 48 contiguous U.S. states and will close on 5/20 11:59 pm cst.

*Disclosure: As a member of MomSelect, I was provided with a bottle of the new Suave Mango Mandarin bodywash to review and one to give away. No further compensation has been provided.

Notices and Reminders

National Mom's Nite Out is happening right now. If you didn't make it out to any live events, or if you did and just can't get enough, get on over to Twitter and follow @MomTalkRadio and try to win yourself some prizes.

I would really appreciate any votes for my entry in the Goodnites Bedtime Theater Contest. You just have to sign up once, and votes can be put in daily until May 14. Thanks so much in Advance.

I do have a giveaway coming up. You can check out my YouTube video for further details. Otherwise just stay tuned right here. Hopefully i'll get it live tonight!

There's still time to enter to win an Apple Ipad. One is being given away at a blog about Iphone Apps for Kids and you can win it just by blogging about it.

Wednesday, May 5, 2010

Apple - iPad - Introducing the iPad



Ahhhh. Is this what they call iPad envy? Well, I don't want yours, but I would like to have one for myself (sigh).

There's still time to enter to win an Apple Ipad. One is being given away at a blog about Iphone Apps for Kids and you can win it just by blogging.

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

America....Please help me

This is my attempt to get votes. I wrote a story for the Goodnite's Bedtime Theater and shockingly received an email today stating that i'm a finalist. I can't win without votes, though. Could you please vote for me once a day in the Goodnite's Bedtime Theater Contest? I'd appreciate it so much more than words can say! Thanks (so much!) in advance.

There's still time to enter to win an Apple Ipad? One is being given away at a blog about Iphone Apps for Kids and you can win it just by blogging

Monday, May 3, 2010

NMNO

That stand for National Mom's Nite Out and it's coming up in just THREE MORE DAYS!!!! Started by Maria Bailey, this is a nite for moms all across the country to relax and win some great prizes. The celebration takes place virtually and you may even find a local celebration near where you live! Check out the site for complete details. Hope to see you there!!

There's still time to enter to win an Apple Ipad? One is being given away at a blog about Iphone Apps for Kids and you can win it just by blogging.

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Vinyl Banner Giveaway Winner

And the winner of the Vinyl Banner is.........

Toni!!

Congratulations!! I'll be in touch to get your shipping information to forward on to the sponsor of this very awesome prize!!

P.S. Have you entered to win an Apple Ipad? One is being given away at a blog about Iphone Apps for Kids and you can win it just by blogging.