Pages

Monday, October 31, 2011

LeapFrog Learn, Create, Share Party


As a lover of LeapFrog products, I was excited to get to host a LeapFrog Learn, Create, Share party. Hosting brought me the opportunity to meet and introduce a new product from the LeapFrog family, the LeapPad and also to present another product that we're already familiar with, which is the LeapFrog Tag Reading System. Matter of fact the only thing that would have even caused me to think twice was choosing which of my children would get to be the owner of this new LeapPad learning tablet, because I already knew they were going to flip out over it too!


The LeapPad is designed to be like a tablet. It has a nice screen size, at least twice the size of the Leapster Explorer. As a current owner of the Leapster Explorer, I really appreciate the fact that the cartridges that we already have are compatible. It has a camera which allows for photos and video recording. Your kids will have fun snapping and adding their own touch to photos. The LeapPad comes preloaded with a Pet Writing App, Story Studio App and also an Art Studio App. You also get a free app download when you install the connect application and complete the registration.



I also have a new found appreciation for the LeapFrog Tag Reading system as we got a hold of some new accessories including the map pictured here, and some new books to add to our collection. The Tag Reading system uses a pen-like device, which when scrolled across specially designed books, it reads. It helps children to break down words and helps expand their vocabulary. It's also interactive with the pictures in those books as well. I like the challenges that are included which makes a game out of learning and thereby makes learning fun for my children.

LeapFrog continues to provide just the kind of learning that I appreciate as a parent. I do wish they were around when I was a kid, but i'm so glad that they're around for my children. The LeapPad and Tag Reading System help children to learn in a fun way, and also allow them to enjoy being creative, which to me is just a perfect balance. Leapfrog products have proven time and again that learning doesn't have to be boring. They're perfect tools to get your children away from the television and traditional video games. I feel much better knowing that something positive comes from my children having fun.

*I was provided with a LeapPad and also a Tag Reading System along with accessories to host a party and facilitate this review. No further compensation has been provided.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Love Your Daughter and Teach Her to Love Herself


I recently watched a thought provoking documentary. This documentary talked about how the media has influenced us and how it's influencing our children by defining what's beautiful. Images that enter our thoughts and sub-conscious by way of television, magazines and billboards. It got me to thinking about my daughter and how much I can personally affect her when it comes to self esteem. I really want her to feel good about herself without thinking too highly of herself. Two points from this documentary that really stuck out with me were:

1. Don't criticize yourself to or around her i.e. talking about your weight and other features you feel are imperfect
2. Don't criticize the appearance of others

If you criticize yourself or others, your daughter will more than likely find herself using those comparisons and finding things to look down on herself about. This could bring along a life of misery as she tries to attain to some unreachable standard because she feels like she's not as beautiful as the next girl. A life of extreme dieting and weight loss, plastic surgery and whatever other potentially destructive behavior it takes to be up to someone else's standards.

I want to take the time I have with my daughter and work diligently at making sure I do this right. Some goals I have for myself when it comes to her are:

1. Don't compare her to others. It may be that I like the way the neighbors child excels, but instead of using someone else's child as the standard for my own, just let her know what she can do personally to improve in an area.
2. Point out her good qualities.
3. Find a balance. The last thing I want to do is have a conceited child. I want her to know how to treat others respectfully while maintaining a level head. I think a great way to do this is by helping others. Helping others gives you a sense of accomplishment and it just feels good.
4. Spend quality time together doing things like shopping and baking or just taking a walk in the park.
5. I want to make time to give her my undivided attention and ask her about her life, listen to what she has to say and offer feedback.



Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Send Hanes Virtual Comfort Care Packages and They Will Donate $1 Each Time Towards Breast Cancer Awareness*



How many women get cancer? According to the American Cancer Society, it is estimated that in 2011 in the United States there will be 230,480 cases of invasive cases, 57,650 new cases and 39,520 deaths. Breast cancer is the most common type of cancer among women. These numbers are down from what they were, but still high enough to know that we can't give up in our search for a cure.

Hanes has started a campaign that anyone on Facebook can use. All you have to do is send a free Virtual Comfort Care Package using the app they created. For every one sent, they will donate $1 in support of breast cancer awareness. You make it personal by adding your choice of one of 6 items, from music, to videos or a simple note among other things.

It's free, easy, quick, and goes out in support of a cause that has affected and continues to affect countless numbers of people everywhere. The donation portion of this campaign ends 10/31/11, so please send some out before the deadline.

*Donations will be made until 10/31/11 or when the $25,000 limit is reached. This information was provided to me thanks to One2One Network. By sharing, I have a chance to win a prize. The views and opinions expressed are my own. No further compensation has been received.

Soap and Lotion I'm Trying Out On Baby


I decided I would try something new for baby this time. While looking through the selection at Walmart, I spotted these out and decided i'd give them a try.These are made by the Disney brand. I know they make baby products, but didn't know that they made soaps and lotions for babies. I decided to go for them because they're natural.

The lotion is powder fresh scented. It is hypoallergenic, paraben free, dye free and dermatologist tested. It contains shea butter, aloe and oat extract. I like the sweet scent that it has. It leaves my baby's skin feeling soft without feeling oily or greasy.

The baby wash is lavender and chamomile scented. It's designed for hair and body. It's hypoallergenic, sulfate free, dye free and paraben free. It's also tear free and. Now because it's sulfate free, I don't get the suds i'm used to, but if it's safer for his skin, I can deal with that.

They both come in 15oz pump bottles, but I wouldn't have minded having a coupon or two. They ran us right around $4.00 a bottle.



Monday, October 24, 2011

How Everyone is Adjusting to Baby


As I sit here and go back in my mind to 2002 when I had my oldest son, I don't think anyone could have told me and convinced me that I would have five children today. I probably would have snickered a little while thinking to myself "yeah right," but here we are. It's a little insane to me that now when someone asks me how many are there now, I almost have to count. I even had to verify with my husband one time that I was giving the correct number. It's that surreal.

Well, this post is dedicated to letting everyone know how my older children are taking to having a new baby brother...


First i'd like to start with my retired baby. In this post I talked about how he'd been my baby for so long. Longer than any of my other children. I didn't know how he'd take losing his reign as baby of the house. Well the picture you see here of him kissing the baby, that's how he is. Always kissing him. I think he's proud to be a big brother. I even get extra kisses, though mine are becoming less frequent. He's gone on to resume his position as ninja.


Next is our middle man...


He loves the baby. He doesn't give the baby a whole lot of attention, because as a 5 year old, he's usually in his own little world doing his own thing. He does occasionally want to hold the baby, which doesn't have to be for too long as long as he gets to hold him.

And my oldest son:


Can anyone say second dad? My mom and sister were telling me today that when they take the baby to kinda help me out and let me have a few moments to myself, my oldest follows them and tries to take him from them. Those who have given their opinion of who they think the baby looks most like say that he most favors my oldest, so maybe that has something to do with it all. He says that the baby is his best friend and he's the baby's best friend. He is very helpful, though, and any mom can appreciate having a lot of help when it comes to a new baby.

I saved my daughter for last..

She wanted a sister so badly, and we wanted one for her. It was so bad that she bawled when she heard the ultrasound results that determined we were having another boy. I felt bad for her, but I realize God has a plan and something's going to come of this that we just don't understand as of yet. She loves her little brother dearly and i'm sure she wouldn't trade him for the world. She talks baby talk to him like she has some kind of prior experience and she's just an awesome big sister.

I really appreciate all of the help they've all been. Grabbing diapers and whatever else they can do. I thought things would get overwhelming because I just knew everyone would want to hold him all of the time, but I was patient with them and they've gotten used to the new baby. Things have balanced out better than i'd expected.

And finally, here's a fresh picture of our littlest guy:




Friday, October 21, 2011

Barnum and Bailey Circus Coming to Chicago. Get Discounted Tickets Here!


The Ringling Bros Barnum and Bailey Circus is coming to the Allstate Arena in Chicago and will hold shows from November 3 through November 27. I have been given a special offer for anyone who wants it. You can get 4 tickets for just $44. Just click this link or any of the pictures in this post to find out how you can save.



*This information was provided to me thanks to US Family Guide. I was offered tickets in exchange for spreading the word.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Big G Cereals and DC Comics Unite!



Hold on to your capes for a breakfast of heroic proportions!
Big G cereals and DC Comics have combined powers in their dedicated efforts to promote reading among children. They have enlisted the help of the Justice League, from Batman to Wonder Woman to Green Lantern, and they are coming right to your breakfast table! Available now, specially marked Big G cereal boxes feature action packed, collectable Justice League comic books.

Want more action adventure? Each comic contains a link to www.BigGCerealHeroes.com for continuations of each story, not to mention a cut-out DC Super Hero mask on the back of the box perfect for helping the Justice League fight crime at breakfast time!

*The information presented was provided to me thanks to DC Comics and General Mills through MyBlogSpark

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Maty's Lullaby Baby Contest #Giveaway #bglu



If you were to step outside my door right now, you just may think winter has officially begun. I just checked to find out what the official reading is, and we're at 46 degrees and it looks like the weather is going to be this way for at least the next couple of days. In the coming weeks it will progressively get colder. With the change in weather, stuffy noses and whatever else the colder weather may bring on have proven for me to be inevitable.

I'd never heard of Maty's before being approached to offer this giveaway, but what i've learned of this PTPA award winning chest rub so far is great news to me as a mom. chest rub is all natural. The ingredients include eucalyptus, lavender and chamomile and it's menthol and petroleum free. is safe for children as young as 3 months. My youngest still has a little way to go before I can safely use it on him, but I have 4 others, some of whom can use some even now.

If you're interested in trying out Maty's for yourself, check out the product locator page to find out where you can purchase it. There's also a contest going on at the Maty's Facebook page where you can upload a picture of your little one sleeping to their wall and get the most likes for your chance to win chest rub and some other products made by Maty's.

I've also been given the opportunity to hold a giveaway where one reader will win Maty's chest rub.

Mandatory Entry:
Leave a comment telling me your favorite tip for getting your baby to sleep.

Additional Entries (leave a separate comment for each):
1. Like
2. Follow Maty's on Twitter
3. Follow this blog publicly through Google Friend Connect
4. Join Momma's Reviews Facebook Page
5. Tweet this giveaway using the Twitter button beneath this post.

That's it! This giveaway will close at 11:59pm cst on 10/30 after which a winner will be randomly selected.

*I will be receiving Maty's chest rub in exchange for this post. The prize is also being provided by Maty's. No further compensation has been received.



Win a Milk Frother from Krups on Facebook. Short Term Giveaway Ending 10/21 5pm est.



Just wanted to share news that I received about this giveaway:


Just in time for the season of Spiced Pumpkin lattes and other fall latte favorites, KRUPS, the leading manufacturer of coffee and espresso machines is hosting a Facebook and Twitter giveaway for a KRUPS Milk Frother.Indulge in the taste of freshly frothed milk by entering to win a new KRUPS Milk Frother.  Starting Wednesday, October 19th and ending Friday, October 21st at 5 PM EST, send us your favorite fall latte flavor on our Facebook wall - KRUPSUSA http://www.facebook.com/KrupsUSA or Twitter page - http://twitter.com/Krupsusa  to enter for a chance to win the milk frother.
The frother they are giving away is valued at $89.99 and the features include:


·         All-round pouring rim.
·         Non-stick coated aluminum jug with milk measurement
             lines.
·         Brushed stainless steel trim.
·         Removable frothing device for easy cleaning.
·         Control panel with 3 buttons for 3 recipes with blue LED
             lights: Cappuccino, CaffeLatte, Hot Milk.
·         Insulated stainless steel handle with soft-touch satin finish.
·         360° base with removable cord.
·         Well sealed transparent lid.





Monday, October 17, 2011

Fun da-Middles... It's What's Inside That Matters



This video brought to you courtesy of MyBlogSpark and Betty Crocker for Fun da-Middles.

$30 off CarMD for a Limited Time. Diagnose Your Car's Engine Problems.



As a Bzz Agent, I received an offer to get a CarMD device that I just did not want to refuse. We really didn't have the money to spare at the time, but I did not want to let this offer get away, and after a little talking to my husband to convince him, we decided we would make the sacrifice for it.

CarMD uses the same technology as the much higher priced ones that they use at local repair shops. It can let you know if there are problems with the engine (via vehicle sensors), brake system and chassis by reading codes that are fed into your car's computer system to the port where you hook it up.

I personally don't know a lot about cars. I don't know how many of you do, but i've heard enough about car repair shops and dealerships to know that sadly, I have to have my guards up when it comes to dealing with them. When I received this offer, I did a little research, and found out that this may be just the thing to take some of the stress out of it all.

If you have a car that was manufactured in the United States 1996 or later, this will work for you because your car is required to have a port designed for this type of device. This is good if you're looking to purchase a car made in this time frame as well.

It's really simple to use. All you do is install the software on your computer, hook the device up to the port in your car and if you get error codes, you hook it up to your computer, which will let you know what the codes mean. Fortunately, our car isn't having many issues, but of course we wanted to try it out. We got a reading letting us know that our fuel sensor was faulty. Not only that, but it also let us know how much we could expect the parts and labor to cost as well. After doing our own research on parts and labor, we did find that we could get them at a better price than was given.

One of the things I really liked and may not have considered if it wasn't pointed out, was that if you are looking into purchasing a car, you can take the CarMD along with you and get any readings from the car for yourself. This way you don't have to take the salesperson's word for it.

As a Bzz Agent, i've been given a link to share with anyone interested, where you can save $30 off of your purchase of a CarMD. You also have the option to make payments if you'd like. In my opinion, this is great to have and i've not regretted purchasing it up to now. If you're interested, and want to purchase the CarMD at a $30 discount, click here. If you'd like to see more videos and learn more, click here.


*Disclosure: As a Bzz Agent, I received the CarMD at a discounted price. The views and opinions expressed here reflect what I think about the device personally. No further compensation has been received.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Bathing a Newborn

I'll admit that this isn't the most enjoyable time for me. Babies are very slippery when wet and soapy and therefore you'll need to be extremely careful. Apparently it's not the happiest time for my baby either. He doesn't seem to like being completely undressed, nor is he too excited about being in water, even though I try to make sure the temperature of the water is perfect for him. Fortunately, it's something you only have to do every few days, as you don't want to cause your baby to have overly dry skin.

The first thing you want to do is make sure the temperature in your house is just right. Make sure you have everything on hand that you'll need: 1. Soap that's designed to be gentle on baby's skin. If the soap isn't suitable for hair washing as well, you'll also need a gentle shampoo if you plan to wash baby's hair. 2. A washcloth and 3.  A towel to dry baby. I do like the ones with the little hood on one of the corners, but it's not a must.

You'll also want to make sure you have baby's things together for when his bath is complete. These include 1.Any toiletries you plan to use, lotion, *baby powder (see note below) any diaper rash cremes you may use if applicable. 2. His diaper 3. A change of clothes.

One thing I like to have is a mesh sling. Matter of fact, it's one of my must-haves when there's a baby to be bathed. To me, it's the perfect invention because it makes me feel so much more secure when dealing with a slippery baby. It provides just the support that I need. It will work great with the baby bathtub or on its own. I've taken some pictures of mine so that you'll know what i'm talking about.




Alright, on to the bathing. There are devices that you can use to make sure the water is the perfect temperature for your little one. He won't be able to take water as hot as you may like it. If you don't have a device, your wrist or back of your hand will do just fine. Be sure not to use too much water; just a few inches worth will do. I personally like to keep the dry towel on my shoulder, but make sure it's nearby. The sooner you can get baby wrapped and warm, the happier you'll both be.

Start off cleaning baby's face. Be sure to use separate corners of the towel for baby's eyes. Next clean baby's ears. Now you'll want to put soap on your washcloth. You won't need a lot, no more than the size of a quarter if you're using the small baby washcloths (bigger washcloths will need slightly more). Start behind baby's ears. You'd be surprised at how smelly it can get there.

Work your way down to baby's neck. You'll probably need to use one hand to gently raise baby's head to get in there good. As you work your way down, be sure to cover all possible nooks and crannies as they tend to have a bit of lint and can smell bad as well. I like to save the head washing for last. The whole rinse and repeat normally isn't necessary.

If you don't have it there already, open the dry towel completely and drape it on one shoulder. You can help hold it open better with your chin. Lift the baby with both hands and bring him to the towel and wrap him.

Once you get him to your designated changing area, lotion him starting at the top of his body, by exposing only one arm or leg at a time, covering them back up as you go until baby is completely lotioned. This will help keep him warm and calm, and can help keep you from getting peed on, especially if it's a boy. Next you'll want to powder baby's bottom or use whatever creams you may be using. Diaper and dress the baby.

*My note on baby powder. This is not something I use all of the time. I've heard that baby powder is not safe to breathe in, for baby or anyone else. If you use baby powder, be sure to sprinkle it as close to baby's bottom as possible and use it sparingly.







Friday, October 7, 2011

My Birth Story... Meet the Newest Member of Our Team


Whew!! Let me first start off by saying that this pregnancy seems like it lasted FOREVER! Some of you may have noticed the days until widget sitting there was somewhere beyond 40 weeks, and that would be because it took, well, over 40 weeks. It was more like 41 weeks plus 6 days! Our little guy just didn't want to come on his own.

I'd done more research with this pregnancy as far as having a baby naturally. I'd wished I had more resources and felt more comfortable with the whole "at home" scene. I had planned in my heart and mind that I was going to let nature take it's course and try my hardest for an unmedicated, unassisted birth. But as you know, things don't always go as we'd like for them to.

I had been doing quite well making it to my prenatal appointments and everything was going well. It was time for the bi-monthly appointments to start when we up and left for Louisiana to support my mother-in-law, who had gotten the diagnosis that she had cancer and was going to be having surgery to have it removed. During our time in Louisiana in the hottest of heat it seemed, my Braxton- Hicks contractions became more frequent and I just knew i'd end up delivering while we were there. My mother in law even joked that we would be side by side in the hospital.

I do not under any circumstances advise you to not keep up with your prenatal exams, but during my stay in Louisiana, I neglected to try to find a doctor to keep check on things. We'd planned to be gone about 2 weeks, but that ended up turning into a little over a month. When we got back, I didn't follow up with my doctor right away here either. I was still having those Braxton- Hicks and figured things would start on their own soon enough. 40 weeks, 41 weeks.. no baby.

Well, with a little bit of pressure from family members to go ahead and see why progress wasn't happening, at 41 weeks and 1 day, I went ahead and called my OB. They wanted me to come right in for a non-stress test. I went in the same day and everything was looking great..... except that the baby, according to the ultrasound, was looking to weigh around 10 lbs 3 oz. Up until now, my oldest had been my biggest at 8 lbs 5 oz. The staff tried to talk me into staying for an induction, but left it up to me since things were fine otherwise. I was still holding out on hope that this would happen on this own, hopefully in a day or so. I was scheduled to return to my OB the following Monday to make sure things were still going well. I just knew I would not make it back for that appointment, because my body would surely go into labor on its own sometime during the weekend.

Friday, Saturday, Sunday and then Monday rolls around. No labor. No baby. Into the OB's office at 2:30 as scheduled I go. Oh. my. gosh. had I angered my doctor for waiting so long! He told me I need to go over to labor and delivery immediately. He looked at the estimation of the baby's size and tried to persuade me to have a c-section. Something i'd never had, nor did I want. He warned me that because of the baby's size, he could suffer shoulder dystocia and some other possible risks. I was determined that at least I would not give in to this. This baby wasn't much bigger than my oldest and i'd already relaxed things from pushing out the others before. I was thinking I think I can do this. We did go ahead and get over to labor and delivery, and by 4:30 the pitocin was started.

Things only progressed slowly. By the time I hit 5 cm progress pretty much stopped. The doc had them up my pitocin, but the baby's heart rate dropped drastically, so the nurse turned it down. My doctor then decided to rupture my membranes. It was at this time we discovered that the baby had passed meconium while in utero. This could have been due to the baby being overdue or because he was stressed. We were informed that immediately after he was born he would be whisked away and suctioned so that when he took that first breath, he wouldn't inhale the meconium which could cause pneumonia and call for an extended stay in the nursery. A scalp monitor was inserted to better monitor the baby's heart rate, and also something else was inserted in an attempt to flush out the meconium.

I had previously opted for pain meds in my iv if things started to seem unbearable but after my water was broken, and taking into consideration that I had already been laboring, though assisted, for almost 10 hours I asked for an epidural. Something i'd never given in to and really had planned not to, but this was the longest i'd been in labor with any child, and it was late and I was thinking well maybe i'll get some rest while we wait for things to move along. I signed the consent form for an epidural.

I was instructed to sit on the side of the bed and told the position I would need to be in for the anesthesiologist. As we waited for the anesthesiologist to get there, the pain quickly grew unbearable. My husband said I let out the loudest scream ever! My mom, who was also there noticed the nurse asking me what I felt. This got her a little worried, because she was thinking the nurse should have known what was going on. I told her I have to push.

Before long, there were about 10 people in scrubs in the room and I was on my back being instructed to hold my legs right behind my knees. When the next contraction came I was instructed to push. I pushed with all my might! I was determined no baby was going to be lodged in my birth canal, I was going to get him out as soon as possible and the pain was going to stop. At 2:49 a.m. we welcomed our little guy to the world. He was whisked away, and since he let out a cry, instead of inhaling before letting out that cry, the meconium didn't enter his lungs, and everything turned out just fine. After all was said and done, I realized that i'd done this with no meds for pain whatsoever. A first for me. This pregnancy was more challenging than any other had been for me, but we made it.. and we're enjoying him.






Zhu Zhu Babies Winner...


Congrats goes to karenmed409.. I'll be in touch with you shortly to confirm your shipping info and get your prize sent out!!

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Preparing Your Home for Baby's Arrival

It can be challenging when preparing for a new baby. Although some of you may like to call me a veteran, let me assure you that since I haven't had a newborn around in a little over three years now, i've definitely had to freshen up on what to expect. As a mom who has diapered for 9 years straight since the birth of my first child though, I know the importance of having plenty of diapers on hand. This is especially important if you're awaiting the arrival of a new little one. I mean, the hospital gives you a little bit of a start with the small pack of diapers they have, but you'll find that they very soon run out. And if you're like me, you'll likely be out of circuit with the outside world until your body gets at least some kind of recovery.



Whether you're having your first or you've done this a few times, you've probably heard that a new baby's skin can be really sensitive. If you've heard of Seventh Generation, then you know that they make products that are designed to be environmentally safe and also better for you and your family. Well did you know that they make diapers for babies ranging from newborn sizes up to stage 6? Their diapers are free of components that could otherwise irritate your baby's sensitive skin. Free of chlorine processing, free of latex and perfumes and free of petroleum based lotions.



They also make wipes that are designed to be gentle on your baby's skin. The ingredients in their wipes are plant derived. They're also free of fragrances, alcohol, synthetic cleaners and free of dyes. The wipes are also free of chlorine processing.

Some other tips when preparing for baby that i'd like to share with you follow:

Preparing Your Home for Your Newborn


1. Make sure your crib meets current safety regulations. I'm an Illinois resident, and the sale of crib bumpers was recently banned because of the suffocation risk. You can find more on crib safety at the CPSC site.

2. Although it's tempting to splurge on newborn clothing, try not to overdo it. You'll find that baby doesn't need a whole lot. I find that onesies, jumpsuits, socks and hats are pretty much all that I use.  An outfit or two that are more on the dressy side should do if you want to have pictures taken. Your baby will outgrow those newborn clothes before you know it, so invest in a few 3-6 and 6-9 month size clothing instead of spending your baby budget on newborn items.

3. Prepare any younger siblings for the new baby. Consider watching shows together that focus on siblings and reading books to help your other child/ren know what to expect and how they'll be able to help out.

Preparing for the Ride Home

1. Make sure you have a good car seat. A new one is preferable, as an older one or a used one may not meet current safety standards and may have even possibly been in an accident, which may render it less safe.  A great site to check out is NHTSA, which will give you more details as far as car seat safety and even car seat laws for your particular state.

2. Be sure to place the baby in the rear seat, facing back. I know it's sad to not be able to look back and see baby's face, but it's just safer for him.

Arriving Home With Your Newborn

1. Take it easy. Your baby won't have an established schedule and therefore you'll lose yours as you give in to his demands. Rest when he's resting as much as you can and avoid the urge to try to resume life as you knew it too soon. Things will begin to balance as baby gets a little older and you'll find your way.

2. Accept help if it's offered to you and know who you can talk to if you begin to feel overwhelmed.

As Baby is Growing


1. As baby gets older, and the time for solid foods begins, know what's safe for baby to eat. I was a bit angry when I happened to find out babies under the age of 1 couldn't have honey. Not because I was dying to give it to my baby, but the way I happened to stumble on this information that could have meant life or death. I couldn't believe no one thought to tell me that. A good read for more information can be found here.

2. Consider making at least some of your baby foods from scratch and fresh produce. This way you know exactly what's going into these foods and nourishing your baby.

3. Baby-proof your home. Before you know it, baby will be crawling and then walking, all while getting into everything. Make sure that anything that can pose a hazard is out of reach. A good way to do this is to get down to baby's level so that you can see things from his point of view. Secure your cabinets where harmful items may be, try to make any sharp corners safe with the use of bumpers and plug those unused outlets with outlet covers.


I wrote this blog post while participating in the SocialMoms and Seventh Generation blogging program, for a gift card worth $50. For more information on how you can participate, click here.