Pages

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Giveaway: Introducing Love With Food (5 Winners)


Love with Food is a monthly subscription where you get to try out foods that are themed to go along with the season. I received January's box, and since many people have made resolutions to eat healthier, this month's box is themed to go along with New Year's Resolutions. Next month, being February, the theme will be based on Valentine's Day, and the box is appropriately themed Sweetheart Treats (for orders placed no later than 1/31).

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Mommy, Is Daddy Sleep?


This is a picture of my precious 3 year old. Remember, he was the baby. And he reigned as baby longer than any of our other children had. He and I had gotten pretty close too. How I spoiled him. Not long ago, my oldest son moved his toddler bed into their room because he wanted him to be with the rest of them, at least for that night. His bed has been there ever since.

It seems he's not quite accepted that abrupt move into the big boy room. It wasn't done with the intention that it would be permanent, but apparently my hubby thinks that it was a good thing.

Lastnight he came to our door. All of his other siblings were asleep. "Mommy is dad deep?" he asked. "Huh?" I said. I don't always understand everything he says. He's been a little on the slower side picking up with speech (but trust me he makes up for it in wittiness). "Mommy is dad deep?" he asked again. I told my husband I think he's saying mommy and daddy, thinking he had something to say to the both of us. When my husband answered, he cried and began to walk away.

"Wait a minute. Come back." I said, feeling heartbroken because he was hurt and I didn't understand why. He opened the door and I asked him again what he was saying. "Is dad deep?" I figured he was saying is dad sleep, and so I asked him if that's what he was saying. "Yes." He was waiting for his dad to fall asleep because he knows that dad's going to send him back to his big boy bed if he's awake. I was so touched by how emotional he'd gotten, and after talking with his dad, we invited him in to stay the night. He gladly came in and greeted "his" baby and talked with me to the best of his ability and put his arm around me. It's still hard letting him grow up.

January's Cravebox and Tonight's (1/26/12) Cravebox Twitter Party Details


Check out the contents of January's Cravebox in the video above or read about them below. Also there is a Cravebox Twitter Party taking place tonight at 9pm est. Topics discussed will include


  • Healthy Ways to Cook
  • How to Keep Up Your Energy
  • Must Have Beauty Products 
  • And Much More


Prizes will be given out every 10 minutes which will include items from the Cravebox, and you may win a Cravebox for yourself. Check out the SheSpeaks site to RSVP and find out more.

Now back on to the contents. You may remember I shared clues which included:

  • Healthy Way to Cook Your Food
  • Keeping Track Every Step of the Way
  • Must Have Addition to Your Beauty Regimen
  • Extra Boost to Keep You Energetic All Day
  • Stay Informed on How to Keep Healthy
The items I received were Colavita Extra Virgin Olive Oil in a 5 ounce size, a S2HSTEP pedometer, Mèreadesso Face and Neck Toning Gel, Emergen-C Vitamin Drink Mix and a Prevention Magazine + a 1 Year Subscription.

I was just using olive oil lastnight in place of just any other old oil and doing so just made me feel good because i've heard positive things about olive oil in the past, which I will hopefully get around to sharing in one of my health tips posts. 

Yes I do realize I personally do need to walk more, but the cold weather makes it somewhat inconvenient at this time. I mentioned how my husband's job requires lots of walking, so i'm thinking i'll pass it on to him. I think he'd really like to know how many steps he takes daily. I told him that I think i'm starting to see the effect of all the walking he's doing, and I think a pedometer will inspire him to walk a little further. Besides, it happens to be his favorite color, blue. It was also interesting to see that according to the box that you can get rewards. I checked out these rewards and they range from ringtones to giftcards and more. How's that for motivation??


Next is the Mèreadesso Woman face + neck toning gel in a 1.7 oz size. Pretty much enough said right there. I don't know if i'm personally ready to use it, but perhaps I can find someone if I decide that it's not for me.

Emergen-C. This one is a bonus for me. I can totally use this with 5 kids with whom i'm home all day. It's tangerine flavored and is packed with 24 nutrients and 7 B vitamins. Designed to give me energy . Yes!

Lastly there's the Prevention magazine. At first I thought it was only the magazine in the box, but found out I scored again because i'm getting a years' worth.

It is my understanding that Cravebox opened a few more spots which were filled randomly from those already on the waiting list. If you want in, you can sign up here to be notified when more spots become open.

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Are You Getting Enough Water?

You've probably heard different takes on how much water you should be drinking. I've heard at least three. One says that you should drink at least 8 cups or 64 ounces a day. Then there's the one where you do a little math factoring in your weight. Most recently I heard just drink until you feel satisfied.

Your Complete Guide to Free Tax Tools - Yahoo! Finance

Found this on Yahoo. I know that tax season is here and I hope that someone find this useful.

Your Complete Guide to Free Tax Tools - Yahoo! Finance

Yum Yum Dishes Make a Great Idea for Portion Control. Save 20% With This Coupon Code..

Snack-time can definitely get crazy. It often takes place in front of the television which means that you easily lose track of how much you've really eaten. That is until you reach down into the bag and are feeling the bottom of it. I was recently introduced to Yum Yum Dishes, which make it possible to make sure you aren't over doing it.



See how it fits right in the palm of my hand? These porcelain dishes are designed with adults and children in mind. They come in bright, attractive colors and a little message, "Yum Yum time is..." and when you get to the bottom after finishing your snack, you see "Over." I like that the bowls come with lids, which makes it ideal for taking snacks on the go, or easily refilling them during road trips. Kids like them because they have something that's all theirs. 


Yum Yum Dishes also recently introduced plates, so that you can insure portion control for a full meal. These are designed so that you know exactly what proportion you should put for each food group without overdoing it.

Yum Yum Dishes come in sets of four and are available for purchase online at YumYumDish.com. I also have a code for my readers where you can save 20% off of your total order. All you have to do is enter code NEWYOU (no space all caps). This offer will end 2/29/12.

*I was sent a product to facilitate this review. The opinions expressed are my own.

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

The Company Store Helps Keep Children Warm BOG(ive)O

Updated to show that this program will last through the end of March


  • Families comprise nearly 40% of the homeless population and are its fastest growing segment
  • This year 3.5 million people will experience homelessness in the United States
  • One out of every 50 children will experience homelessness before the age of 18
  • More than 200,000 children are homeless in America tonight
  • More than 1.3 million children will experience homelessness this year
  • 15% of Americans live in poverty, including 1 in 5 children
  • Every 29 seconds a child is born into poverty in the United States

The Company Store is working along with Family Promise, the nation's leading non-profit committed to helping homeless and low income families to achieve lasting independence. For every comforter purchased through the Buy One, Give One Comforter Program through the end of March, The Company Store will donate a new comforter to a child in need. When a customer places an order through this initiative, a comforter is automatically donated to a child in need. What a great way to give to someone in need that doesn't cost you anything extra.

*I was offered a free gift in exchange for this post.



Saturday, January 21, 2012

My Thoughts in Relation to That Last Post

Altering something natural that would have worked just fine in its original state just so that you can slap a patent on it and make money off of it is just selfish and greedy. Forget the value of human life and how we'd all like to lead normal ones. We trust these people to help us to get better, but all they really care about is fattening their pockets. Killing us at our expense.

Must Read: What the Medical and Pharmaceutical Industries Don't Tell You

What i'm sharing is from a local doctor. I happened to get my hands on this newsletter because my Pastor and his Wife are both on a HCG diet apparently under this doctor's supervision (with amazing results if I might add!) and my husband noticed how much weight they'd lost and wanted to know more. Pastor's wife gave it to me so that I could find out more information on this diet, but there was more that I found interesting that was shared and I wanted to pass on. Feel free to copy and paste this post if you'd like. It reads as follows:

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Here's To Your Health

Let me first begin by saying that no, I am not the healthiest person. I don't always drink enough water, but that's actually something i've been doing pretty well with lately. All because my husband bought me a nice BPA free water bottle that serves as a reminder just to have it in sight. I could just pat myself on the back. There is a lot more that I don't get right either. Among them being consistently taking daily vitamins, getting the sleep I need, and even, get this, eating right.

New Breads from Sister Schubert's (p.s. i'm in love)


For the first time to my knowledge, I had the pleasure of trying Sister Schubert's breads. I connected with them just in time to try their two new breads. The first one that i'm going to focus on are the new Soft Pretzel Rolls pictured above.

According to the package they're just like restaurant style rolls. I hope i'm not beginning to look like i'm too out of the loop, but i'd never tried pretzel rolls before. Now that I have, I do hope that any pretzel rolls that I have anywhere else would taste as good as these by Sister Schubert's. They've really set the bar high. The texture on the outside is truly like that of a freshly baked pretzel with a soft, delicious center. These tasted oh so delicious with butter slathered on them, but of course you could use them for mini sandwiches which would be great for lunchtime or anytime. My kids loved them too, so they're ideal for the entire family.

They come 6 to a pack and they're packed individually, so there's no breaking them apart. You take out only what you need. If they're frozen, they'll be ready within 7 to 9 minutes. If they're thawed, it only takes 3 to 5 minutes. Can you say great finishing touch to a comforting dinner?


The other bread that we were privileged to try were the Mini Baguettes. When I removed these from the oven and went to cut into them, they were perfectly crisp and crackly on the outside with a soft center. I honestly didn't know what my kids would think of these, but they liked them as well.

The Mini Baguettes also come 6 to a pack and are also very easy and conveniently quick to prepare at 7-9 minutes if frozen and 4-6 if thawed. Convenient again because they're individual rolls. Now I personally used them for sandwiches, but couldn't resist seeing what they were like with butter. Great both ways. The packaging also suggests serving these with extra virgin olive oil and fresh herbs as an appetizer or snack or as a complement to any meal, which I can totally see.

Some other things that i'd like to point out about the Sister Schubert's breads that we tried are that they are free of preservatives, trans fats, and artificial flavors. Sister Schubert's gets major thumbs up because they taste really good to me, my children love them, and they can quickly and conveniently be served alongside or as a part of any meal.

You can check out the full line up of these breads at the Sister Schubert's website. You can also find recipes, cooking tips and special offers while you're there.

*I was provided with these products free in order to facilitate this review. The opinions expressed are my own and these breads are absolutely delicious!

Friday, January 13, 2012

Lighten Your Load with Purex UltraPacks


When it comes to doing laundry a lot of bending and lifting is involved and that's why I love the idea of Purex  UltraPacks. Talk about convenience. A full load's worth of laundry detergent that fits into the palm of your hand in the form of a cute little pouch designed to make clothes washing a bit more pleasant and less painful.


You only need one for regular loads or two for heavily soiled or large loads. The formula contained within them is 2X concentrated and keeps with the Triple Action perfomance brought to you by Purex (bright, white and clean). Purex UltraPacks are safe for all machines including High efficiency (HE) machines and is designed to dissolve quickly even in cold water. Purex UltraPacks will be available this February in two varieties which include Mountain Breeze and Free and Clear.

*Purex provided me with a free sample of their UltraPacks Laundry detergent in order to write this review. Any opinions expressed are my own. I've also shared some information I thought would be valuable from the packaging and Purex website.



Giveaway: Bonus Box Tops for Education at Sam's Club. Win a $25 Sam's Giftcard #myblogspark #bglu

Multitasking. The performance of multiple tasks at one time. Doing so brings a sense of accomplishment and makes you feel pretty good about yourself and what you've accomplished in your multitasking ventures. As moms with so much on our to do lists it feels even better knowing that we're getting a job done and our children are content.

Sam's Club and Box Tops for Education have teamed up to make things a little easier. You see, if you buy General Mills products you can accomplish two things at once. Your children have food to eat that are ready right out of the box or simple to be prepared making things easier for you, and you get Box Tops for Education points which can be used by schools to trade in for cash to buy supplies that can in turn be used to enhance learning.

Can it get any better? It already is! Sam's Club has a "6 Box Tops on a Pack" promotion happening. That means that there will be at least 6 Bonus Box Tops located on brands such as Nature Valley Oats 'N Honey Granola Bars, Yoplait and Progresso. This means even more cash for your local school. Now that's multitasking!

I also have the pleasure to offer one reader a $25 giftcard to Sam's Club..

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Purex Triple Action Liquid



Are you wondering what is meant by Triple Action? Well I did also, and if you'll look closely it means bright white and clean. It's the new and improved laundry detergent from Purex and Purex promises to leave your clothes whiter, brighter and cleaner. For half the price of the leading national brand.


I received my own to try out and it is pleasant smelling. Each bottle can wash up to 33 loads. Purex Triple Action formula is designed to work in both traditional and High Efficiency (HE) washing machines.


I would also like to inform you that Purex is bringing back free samples for those interested. All you have to do is visit FreeSamplePurex.com. Also stay tuned here for how you can win some Triple Action Purex detergent to try out for yourself.

*Purex proveded a free sample of their Triple Action detergent in order that I might provide a review. The opinions expressed here are mine and include information taken from their site.

Monday, January 9, 2012

Baby Update


Baby is now 3 months and 2 weeks. My how time is flying. Our little guy is, well, not so little. Some people have even guesstimated him to be 6 months!

Milestones:

At around 2 months, I noticed he started to swing those arms with clenched fists. Imagine getting a left hook from a baby on your lap. Fortunately there's still not a lot of muscle behind that.

He never has been a rough sleeper, but he's gotten even better and I also have the opportunity to sleep more as well, but I can't say I always take that opportunity.

He's a strong little guy. He does fairly well with keeping his head upright and even standing (supported of course) on his legs. He still doesn't have full control and if he topples over a bit, he needs help to get back into position. He's strong enough that I can sit him up (attended) in a nice comfortable corner of the couch so that he can get another view of things going on around him.

I have to be sure and keep his cute little nails clipped, because he's discovered that his hands are operable. I find myself getting pinched and squeezed and the things that he grasps often head for his mouth. Slobberville. He even reaches for things that I may be holding, including my iTouch. When i'm playing a game. Goodbye new high score. And it's so totally worth it.

Brothers and sister love him more than a new a toy. They're still excited about holding and smooching him and he's showing them that he loves them right back with smiles and giggles and little goo-goo eyes and loving stares.

And what's going on with me?

I've settled into this thing of going to bed late. It's become a bad habit that I need to break because I find myself fatigued throughout the day and napping like a preschooler. I have housework that needs desperate attention and i'm also trying to get settled back into a blogging pattern. That about sums things up, but hopefully i'll figure this out again. Real soon.

January's Cravebox


You may remember the post where I told you about December's Cravebox, and I just got an email today from Google checkout that i've been charged, which means another one is on the way! I've checked out the clues that have been posted on the Cravebox Facebook page, and I can hardly wait to see what's coming! The clues are:


  • You'll be inspired to get moving
  • Your gorgeous face will thank you
  • A healthy option the best chefs can't live without
  • A quick boost to keep you at your best
  • Entertaining and educational. You'll have all the answers


It looks like this month may be sold out, but if you're interested, you can sign up to be notified if any more spots open up by entering your email address in the box found on the Cravebox website. The price is $10 which includes the shipping and it's automatically billed monthly. You can cancel at anytime. Stay tuned for a post on what surprises I receive for the month of January.....

Monday, January 2, 2012

Changes, Changes

Welcome to MommasReviews.com. You may or may not have noticed, but you no longer have to include the .blogspot when visiting Momma's Reviews! Exciting, no? You can now get here around 4 seconds quicker!

Well, it's a New Year, and I hope it's going great for you (Hope you had a wonderful Christmas too!). I had a heart to heart with another blogger. Can I say blog heart to blog heart? Well, it just so happens that I was up late one night trying to amp up the sociability around this site and this other blogger happened to ask me what I was doing. We got to talking about some of my goals and hopes for Momma's Reviews, and she recommended I take a different approach. It's something that's been on my mind, and I do want to get more beyond the mostly reviews and giveaways that go on here. Though this was the reason I switched from Human Christian to Momma's Reviews, I do want to expand and try some new things to see how it will work out.

I would absolutely LOVE your feedback, which is something I mostly lack, and therefore don't know what type of things that I share are appreciated more than others or not. Hopefully there won't be too much trial and error before I can get that figured out, lol, but bear with me.

For now, i've decided not to focus too much on my Klout score. It's cool if you want better opportunities in working with brands, but unless you're already really active on Twitter and Facebook, it can become quite the task, and it's not something that I have a load of time to put my focus on. I do want to put more attention on Google+. I haven't quite got the hang of things, but I would love to have you join my circle.

I guess that explains enough for now. Thank you for being here and I hope you'll continue to stick around :).