Pages

Friday, November 30, 2012

@Colortime Crafts and Markers




Since 1990, over 5 million children and adults have loved creating t-shirts, pillowcases, backpacks, tote bags, bandanas, and more for parties, slumber parties, and scout meetings with our permanent fabric markers. We have provided our customers the opportunity to entertain their guests with a creative activity that becomes a permanent keepsake. Also, we are a licensed vendor of the Girl Scouts of America. Check out our wholesale program, great for your organizations.

We also offer free downloadable coloring pages (http://www.colortime.com/Free-Coloring-Pages-c64.html) and a "Birthday Club" (http://www.colortime.com/Birthday-Club-c85.html) with special incentives.

Get 15% off all orders Promo Code: 15USFG when you check out at colortime.com

My two cents:

I really appreciate anything that gets my kids away from television and electronics and I think this is a great way. I mean who doesn't love coloring? This is something even I'D enjoy doing right along with them. I also checked out the site and I think the prices are very reasonable.


Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Someone is Giving Away 2 iPad Mini's and You Can Find Out the Deets Here



If you frequent blogs, you've probably seen an exciting platform being widely used that makes it so much easier to complete contest entries. It's one that when I first used, I almost gave up on, but i'm so glad I gave it another shot. Matter of fact, I use it in almost all of my contests that I do get to run around here. Well, I went to the Rafflecopter website tonight and found a fun little contest where you can win one of two iPad Minis. It's as simple or as complicated, depending on how you look at it, as guessing how many entries there will have been using Rafflecopter by the end of the year without going over. Closest guess wins. There are also a couple more entries that you can earn as well. Such as sharing the contest. Click here to get started because there's just over a month left to get those entries in.

This post contains links that will hopefully earn me some additional entries.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

NEWs From Carmex

Can I start off telling you why I really love Carmex? True story. As i'm getting older, I find my lips more apt to dry and get cracky and peely and sore. Especially when the weather starts to get cold. Living in the midwest it's seriously an unavoidable problem. My lips were recently going through that devastation, but after using Carmex they healed up really nicely and it didn't take long. It was one of those before-I-even-realized-it moments.

Carmex recently sent me their new everyday lip conditioner to try out and it was something that they let me know they thought I would love. I do. I'll start off by telling you that it is very much like a lotion for your lips. I know that sounds a little weird at first because like me you're probably accustomed to using a substance that's more like a wax, but you'll just have to try it for yourself to see what i'm talking about. It also contains 13 moisturizers to help make your lips feel soft and smooth.

Do you want to know what I really fell for? It's orange flavored. I recently longed for an orange flavored Carmex product and it's here! Oh my it's like an orange creamsicle and if it were a food i'd likely devour it, but then there's that healing feeling that i've come to expect from Carmex that says enjoy the imagination of eating orange creamsicles, but let the Carmex soothe those lips.

If you get a chance to try this out, please come back and let me know if you love it as much as I do!

New From Purex: Purex Plus Oxi


So what is Purex up to? The usual..meaning creating something new so that your clothes can be kept looking good! This newest creation from Purex is Purex Plus Oxi and it has Zout Stain Removers in it.

Purex plus Oxi is designed to be the most powerful Purex detergent available. It still has Triple Action Power, meaning it's formulated to leave your clothes bright, white and clean. One thing that stood out to me as a mom (or even just as a human being as far as that goes!) is that it is also designed to work against over 101 different stains! I found that alone to be impressive. It can even be used to pretreat stains when applied five minutes before wash time, saving you money because this means you don't need to by a separate product to pretreat your laundry.

Purex plus Oxi laundry detergent has been formulated to work in high efficiency as well as traditional washing machines. It is hypoallergenic with a light fresh scent, Fresh Morning Burst, which I found to be very pleasant, and perfect for everyday laundry as well as heavily soiled loads. Purex is available at costs that are half the price of leading brands.

I'm keeping an eye out for a stubborn stain to try these stain fighting powers, but in the meantime I guess i'll just have to enjoy the way it makes my laundry smell. For more information on this product, you can check out purex.com.

*Purex provided me with a sample of Purex plus Oxi so I could review them. The opinions expressed are my own.





Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Give the Gift of Creativity and Save on Your Subscription to The Happy Trunk



Special delivery! Mail carriers be warned, there may be a stampede for the mailbox when The Happy Trunk packages are delivered!

The Happy Trunk brings a carefully curated box filled with art supplies, crafts, and science activities for hands-on projects for kids ages 3 to 11, each month, delivered right to your door. Every month a new themed box of goodies will appear full stocked and ready to be ripped open by your young explorers. All materials and know how is included, to really engage the kids in fun and learning activities as well as spending quality family time together.

The Happy Trunk boxes are two tiered: the young kid boxes geared towards kids ages 3-7 years, and the big kid boxes for ages 7-11 years. The young kid and big kid boxes are structured differently, to suit these appropriate age groups. Every project in our boxes are designed by early childhood educators and parents, and tested by our very own team of kids. 

The Happy Trunk boxes can be purchased as a month-to-month, 3, 6 or 12 month subscription. Our boxes also make great gifts for birthdays, achievements or holidays. Additional materials can be purchased for siblings. Our boxes are not just popular with parents but also grandparents, sitters and homeschoolers. My Readers Get 50% off a 3-month subscription to The Happy Trunk. A $58.95 Value, Promo Code: HT3F50 #kidscrafts


Friday, November 16, 2012

Save on Your RockTheTea.com Order





Shopping Just Got Easier at Rock The Tea!  Girls shopping on-line store.  Rock the Tea offers crafts, dress-up clothes, make-up and jewlery for young girls.
My readers Save 15% Off Your Order at www.RocktheTea.com 

This post contains an affiliate link. I am being provided with a credit in exchange for sharing this information with my readers.


Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Ticket Giveaway (4 winners): Chicago Toy And Game Fair




It's that time again! That time where we take an early morning drive out to Chicago as a family and get to meet with toy inventors. This will be our third year, but the Toy and Game Fair's 10th and i'm expecting this year to knock the ball out of the park!

All weekend there will be:

  • Giant-sized games such as Banangrams, Perplexus, Word on the Street, Pajaggle and more
  • Settlers of Catan North American Catan Championship
  • Meet the Moshi Monsters
  • Autographs from renowned toy and game inventors
  • Free contests and game tournaments
  • Speed Stacks sport stacking demonstrations and tournaments

There will be (Saturday) contests, Guiness Book of World Records Attempts, (Sunday) Stage Performances, Tournaments and for the girls a Pony Royale Princess Party where the girls each get free ponies while supplies last.

Ticket prices are $10 for ages 14 and up and $5 for ages 3-13. Children under three are admitted free.
My readers can also receive $2 off on admission. You will need access to a printer and then just click here for ticket info and a $2 off coupon

If you are or will be near, maybe you want to be a part of the excitement? Well I have been given the opportunity to give away free family passes. There will be four winners and you'll need to have access to a printer if you're selected as a winner. Also you'll be responsible for paying for your parking. The passes cover unlimited family members, though, which is great. I won't make this one a rafflecopter contest, but rather a one entry contest where you simply leave a comment letting me know you'd like a shot at winning. This contest will close at 5pm cst Friday and randomly selected winners will be emailed tickets that you print off and show upon arrival.



By George I Think He's Got It!!

From the time I complained about my now 4 year old just not getting the whole going-to-the-toilet thing til around a week and a half or so ago things had started to feel pretty hopeless. I knew that he knew when he had to go, but he'd get so caught up into whatever that he didn't even care and would just let it go.

I mean it was bad. I'd see him pacing the floor. The pacing would get faster and faster and if I wasn't on it to tell him to go to the bathroom within those critical minutes, well it would just be too bad. To make matters worse, he'd given up on pooping in the toilet too. And what made things even MORE difficult is the fact that our only bathroom is up our 14 stairs. The only good thing was that on the way up he could start unbuttoning so that he could be ready when he got there.

I think what may have helped was this.  His siblings had gotten the little mini etch-a-sketches that you find at the checkout at Walmart. One day he up and decided he wanted one too. I briefly talked with my hubby, as we were in the process of checking out, and we agreed to get it, but he couldn't have it until he went a satisfactory time without pooping on himself. When we got home, I put it up over our fireplace in plain site as a reminder of what he needed to do if he wanted it.

He began to do really well and went about 5 days and I thought it was time to go ahead and give it to him. He started to have little accidents here and there afterwards, and so I decided to take it back from him again until he improved, and again he did. With that improvement seemed to come improvement with the wetting himself as well. My only concern lately has been the bed wetting. I still wake him to go to the bathroom, which seems to be working for us for the most part. I'll be glad when this is all over and yet with our little guy getting older and the new little one on the way, it all starts again.

Giveaway: Thanksgiving and Beyond Check Out The New Butterball Menu Planning App




It's always exciting to have the opportunity to work with Butterball and this time is no exception. Matter of fact, i'm even more excited than usual because I get to share their new app with you.

When they contacted me this year and told me about their new app and when I got that first look at it, I assumed it was going to be strictly for planning meals for Thanksgiving. As you can see, I have captured some screenshots above. I was immediately impressed with the bright and welcoming colors, and after playing around with it, I soon found out it's so much more than the beautiful colors and pictures, but indeed a way to plan ahead for meals for Thanksgiving and beyond.

It comes preloaded with plenty of recipes to help you prepare your Thanksgiving meal from appetizers all the way through dessert. If you're like me, though, you've probably wanted some suggestions of what to do with all of that left over turkey so that it doesn't end up going to waste, right? Well there are recipes that will help you do just that; maximize, mix it up and stop worrying about the boredom of eating just plain ol' turkey.

This app can be used to plan for everyday meals from breakfast through dinner, and there's something for everyone to love. As an extra bonus, there are other packs that are available that you can add so that you can have even more options and some of these additional packs are even free.

The Butterball Cookbook Plus app is available for $4.99 in iTunes.

Butterball has provided me with two $20 gift checks to give out to two of my readers to help cover the cost of a Butterball product and other grocery items to help out with your holiday meal. I will also be including coupons for Honey Bunches of Oats Cereal, Purex products and Cranberry Naturals Juice! This giveaway will end Friday because I want to be able to get these mailed out in hopes that the winners will be able to have them in time for Thanksgiving.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tuesday, November 13, 2012


<object type="application/x-shockwave-flash" style="width:320px; height:266px;" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/o2ttq3xHWuE?loop=1&hd=1&autoplay=1&version=3&fs=1">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/o2ttq3xHWuE?loop=1&hd=1&autoplay=1&version=3&fs=1" />
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" />
<param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always" />
</object><div style="font-size: 0.8em"><a href="http://www.tools4noobs.com/online_tools/youtube_xhtml/">Get your own valid XHTML YouTube embed code</a></div>



Monday, November 12, 2012

Activision Family Game Summit Reminder

   

Friday, November 9, 2012

Get Two Weeks of Reading Eggs for Free


Reading is the basis for any person to be successful in life. I can remember my mom having little cards that she made up for my little sister to teach her the basics of phonics, and once she had an understanding, things progressed until she became an independent reader. This gave her a jump ahead so that when she did start school, this was one less challenge.

Whether you want to give your child a headstart, or help his or her progress while learning to read, there's a solution that makes it easy. Reading Eggs is an online reading program designed to give your child the advantage of learning to read independently, successfully and confidently. It's been developed by a highly experienced team of teachers, educational writers, animators and web developers.

Reading Eggs is designed for children beginning at the age of 3 all the way through 12. Since launching in the United States and Canada, there have been over 500,000 subscribers and over 15 million lessons have been presented to North America.

Right now, you can try out this program free for two weeks. No credit card required. Just head on over to the site and click where it says "Parents Click here" to get started.

Monday, November 5, 2012

Lego KidsFest 2013 Tour Dates


  • Richmond, Virginia:  February 15 - 17
  • Louisville, Kentucky:  April 5 - 7 
  • Houston, Texas:  May 17 - 19
  • Phoenix, Arizona:  July 12 - 14
  • San Jose, California:  August 30 - September 1
  • Portland, Oregon:  October 11 - 13 
  • Hartford, Connecticut:  December 6 - 8



Ready your building skills!  The LEGO KidsFest, a nationally-traveling giant LEGO expo, is coming to a city near you!  This interactive LEGO extravaganza brings all of the creative hands-on, minds-on fun of LEGO building and experiences together in an activity- and entertainment-packed family event for children of all ages and builders of all skills and interests.
Among the many LEGO attractions, families will find:
  • LEGO Model Gallery: dozens of life-sized models made entirely from LEGO bricks
  • LEGO Master Builders: live demonstrations and activities from the crew who get paid to play
  • Creation Nation: build your own creation to add to a custom map of the U.S.
  • Race Ramps: build your own custom car, then race it down the ramp against friends and family
  • LEGO Games Arena: roll the dice to play LEGO board games
  • Construction Zones: creative free build, play and display areas
  • LEGO DUPLO®: younger visitors can explore imagination through building
  • LEGO Retail and KidsFest Marketplace: purchase LEGO and official KidsFest tour merchandise
  • Brick Pile: a gigantic pile full of LEGO bricks for creative play and enjoyment
  • Monochromatic Builds: bricks of a single color to foster group creativity
  • Brickscapes: fantastic displays that combine lots of LEGO and DUPLO sets
  • And much more, covering over 150,000+ square feet of space
On tour since 2009, nearly 400,000 have attended a LEGO KidsFest.  Previous tour stops include Minneapolis, Boston, Austin, Cincinnati, Denver, Pittsburgh, Chicago, Milwaukee, Cleveland, and Raleigh.  Tickets for many cities have sold out with 25,000 to 30,000 visitors in attendance at each venue.
Based on sell-out attendance in previous markets, advance ticket purchase is strongly encouraged. Tickets for all 2013 tour stops are on sale at www.LEGOkidsfest.com. 
Five sessions - all identical - are available for the each tour stop.  For full details, visit the website at www.LEGOKidsFest.com. 


Thursday, November 1, 2012

Giveaway: Protect Your Kids with SafeSkin

My husband calls me a germophobe. It's mostly jokingly, but i'm serious when it comes down to keeping my kids safe from germs. I'll often grab antibacterial wipes for our grocery cart when we're out shopping. I hate having to go to the bathrooms because kids have this habit of having to touch things and i'm constantly having to tell them don't touch this and don't touch that. It can seriously make me a nervous wreck because I know that once one gets sick, it usually ends up spreading through all of them... and then me. What's worse is having to be concerned when children have open cuts for which extra precaution is needed.

A new and exciting product that I recently learned about that can ease anyone's mind for whom the spread of germs through cuts, open wounds, scrapes and burns is a concern is called SafeSkin Kids.



SafeSkin provides 48 hour antibacterial protection. What's even more impressive is that it's a barrier to MRSA. I don't know a whole lot about MRSA, but I do know that once you're infected with it, it's hard to treat because it's resistant to common antibiotics. My dad just recently had to have a wound treated which was infected with MRSA, and his treatment involved cutting deeper into his wound to help remove the infection AND an IV to administer antibiotics which required hospitalization and nursing home time. By God's grace he was able to get through it and everything is all cleared up.

SafeSkin is available at select Walmart stores, and i'd like to share with you a money saving coupon which will get you $1 off of your purchase. Just click the image below and it should be the first coupon you see on the page.



I have also been given the opportunity to give one tube of SafeSkin Antibacterial gel to one of my readers!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*As a member of BSM Media, I received free product and a gift card for my participation in this campaign. The opinions expressed are my own.

Join Premama in Supporting Women's Health


Premama is a powdered prenatal vitamin supplement that allows women to receive all of the prenatal nutrients they need, without swallowing another giant prenatal pill. Premama - womanPremama can be mixed with your favorite juices, flavored waters, smoothies, shakes and so much more.

Premama contains:

  • Folic Acid to help reduce the risk of neural tube defects              
  • Chelated iron for healthy blood cell formation
  • Vitamin D3 for bone health and immune function
  • Coenzyme Q10 to help reduce the risk of pre-eclampsia
  • Ginger root to help with nausea relief
  • Many more vitamins and minerals to support healthy fetal growth
Premama would like you to join them in supporting the UCSF Young Women's Program. YMP provides health services to women such as prenatal services, gynecological care, nutrition services, post-partum care and so much more. Now through November 30th, Premama will donate a week's worth of prenatal vitamins to the USCF Young Women's Program for every new fan they receive on Facebook.

You can help donate a week's worth of prenatal vitamins to YMP by liking Premama on Facebook before November 30th



*This post gives me the chance to win a prize pack. No other compensation was received.   

Giveaway: Ease Your Child's Boo Boos and Discomfort With Topricin Jr.

I am a mom of five, very active children and believe me i've learned and been reminded time and time again that children are accident prone. Sometimes when the kids get hurt, a little hug, kiss, or baby talk does the trick, but sometimes a little more is needed. And then there are those times when a virus unexpectedly hits and on come the fever and pain.

I am also a mom who prefers, whenever it's possible, to use something that's natural and effective to make my children feel better because of the possible side effects that are associated with other medications. I was highly impressed when I heard about the benefits of using Topricin Junior that is designed for kids. First of all it contains no chemicals and there it is safe and has no side effects. It's designed to treat muscle sprains, strains, spasms, sport injuries, swelling, bruising, bug bites, eczema, aches and pains of fever and more! It has won the PTPA (Parent Tested Parent Approved) seal of approval and is also a trusted partner of Healthy Child Health World.

Right now, you can purchase a Topricin Junior Kid Care and Share Kit for 1¢ plus $6.95 shipping (regular price is $14 plus shipping) while supplies last. This kit gets you a full size (1.5 oz) tube and 15 sample packs on an information card to share with friends and family.

I also wanted to share another deal from the information card for the Boo Boos Happen Kit:

Using code HEALTHY30 will save you a generous 30% off of your purchase of one of these.

I have also been given the opportunity to hold a giveaway. One of you will win the Topricin Junior Care and Share Kit for yourself!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*I received a free Care and Share Kit to facilitate this review. The opinions expressed are mine.