Pages

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Giveaway: $10 Itunes/ 5 Winners. What Ya Cookin? Butterball Menu Planning App Revisited

It's that time again. Time to get those last minute ideas in for what you'll be preparing for Christmas dinner. This, on top of what you're getting that family member or friend as a last minute gift. So much stress and time is running out. I'm taking these moments to remind you of the app from Butterball that will help you at least bring your dinner together. I told you it was for more than just Thanksgiving. It's also great for your upcoming Christmas dinner and all those days in between where your thought processes are not functioning correctly and those where you'd just like to switch up from the usual. Here again is the slideshow that I shared so that you can get an idea of the functionality of this app:



You can plan your entire meal. You can search based on whether it's an appetizer, dessert or a main course. There is the option of in app purchases where you can expand and get other ideas for other holidays and other things such as after school snacks and gluten free recipes. There are even some free ones available.

You can purchase the Butterball Cookbook Plus app for $4.99 in the iTunes store. It's available for the iPhone as well as the iPad. I have also been sent 5 $10 itunes giftcards to give away that you can use to get this app and see what i'm talking about for yourself.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Opinions expressed in this post are my own. I was not compensated for this post and the prizes have been provided by the sponsor.

Friday, December 14, 2012

Giveaway: Make Your Own Chewing Gum With a Glee Gum Kit


I previously did a review on Glee chocolate kits and I was recently contacted to review their gum.The thing I find amazing about Glee products is that you get a lesson on the history of the product that you're creating. As a homeschooler and even as a parent, this is a plus for my kids and myself. Not only are we all learning a little history, but we're also spending quality time together making something we'll enjoy and creating memories.

I've not yet gotten around to making this one with my children just yet. This is partly because Nanna is in town and when this kit arrived she let me know that she wanted to be involved when we make these because gum is something she always wanted to learn how to make. Of course I couldn't say no. I was sent samples which we were able to try out and enjoyed.

For the most part, the flavor isn't as lasting as many gums that you buy at your grocer and I find this to be pretty awesome! Why? Because Glee uses natural sweeteners that are better for you. I've personally stopped buying many types of gum from my grocer because they're sweetened with things that are not good for you such as sucralose and aspartame. This is done to ensure that the sweetness lasts, but quite possibly at the risk of your health.

They do carry a sugar free variety that is sweetened with a sweetener that I recently learned about called Xylitol which is good for the health of your teeth and has no known harmful side effects. Some other things I appreciate about Glee gum is free of artificial colors, flavors and preservatives.
.
You can check out Glee gum and their other kits at their website. If you're interested in purchasing, you can also do this at the website or use the store locator to find out if Glee products are sold near you. You can also enter to win your own Glee Gum kit below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Don't Forget to Make Time for Family During the Holiday Season


The most wonderful time of the year can also prove to be the busiest and most stressful. There is shopping involved, trying to organize around the house, preparing for what's going to be for dinner and for family that may be coming in town and maybe even perhaps trying to squeeze in overtime hours at work to make a few extra bucks to have to spend. My children have been taking the time learning speeches and songs for our upcoming Angel Tree and Christmas programs, along with the daily requirements of completing schoolwork and also working around the house.

With so much going on and so much to worry about, family time can easily slip through the cracks. What's a mom to do to bring everything back into focus, if only for a few hours? Well how about dinner and a movie? Right at home where everyone can relax and take a load off.

Lastnight we did just that. Before we could make it all possible, our older children did have to go to rehearsal. While they were there, dad, baby and I went to Walmart. We picked up Stouffer's lasagna, some New York Texas Toast to go alongside that (hey, mom doesn't always feel like breaking a sweat in the kitchen!), Mini Chewy Sweetarts by Wonka which was free by the way because there was a coupon on the New York toast box, and the Ice Age (3) Dawn of the Dinosaurs movie along with a few other things to make a relaxing night complete.





shopping cart


We swung by the house to pop the lasagna into the oven and then on to pick up the kids and back. When we arrived back, and as the lasagna got done, I popped the toast into the oven and then made plates for everyone and then it was movie time before the kids went off to bed.

dinner


Candy in hand and a bit of laughter made the night more relaxing for everyone.

bedtime

If you'd like, you can check out my shopping experience on Google Plus.

I am a member of the Collective Bias Social Fabric Community. This shop has been compensated as a part of a social shopper insights study for Collective Bias and Nestle #CBias #SocialFabric. Any opinions expressed are my own.

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Let it Foam, Let it Foam, Let it Foam


Has it gotten you yet? That Christmas spirit? Well in time for the season, Dial has introduced four new designs for their foaming soap. Beyond the design is what's inside, An antibacterial formula capable of killing 99.99% of germs and it's safe for hands of all sizes. My kids obviously love it judging by how it's vanished from our bathroom, but that's good because that means that germs and therefore sicknesses that usually happen are less likely because they're encouraged by other means than hearing my yacking to keep their hands clean. Look for these wintery designs where you shop for your hand soaps.


                                            

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Offer From Hot Mama Heirloom Jewelry


Shannon Sunderland & Sahra Cahoon form the dynamic duo of Hot Mama Designs.  Hot Mama Designs rejoices in celebrating motherhood, family and the one-of-a-kind feeling of the handmade object. Their inspiring designs are created to tell stories and celebrate life. Celebrate Family ~ Celebrate Motherhood ~ Celebrate You!

We rejoice in the art of metalsmithing!  As artists we are intrigued by the Japanese concept of wabi-sabi, which is (loosely translated) the beauty of things that are unpretentious and unconventional. In our mass-produced world, our jewelry celebrates the one-of-a-kind feeling of the handmade object.


Readers Get 20% any order of $100 or more.  Promo Code: mamalove226  #mamajewelry
















Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Giveaway: Southern Living Complete Quick & Easy Cookbook


I am one who really enjoys the satisfaction of preparing a home-cooked meal that my family will enjoy, but I have those days where I just do not want to be in the kitchen and the quicker I can get in and out, the better. Then there are those times where, well, there's just not much....time. And this is me as a mom who is home most of the time. Then there are so many other moms who have even more hectic lives that involve going out to work, shopping, taking the kids to various practices and so on (hats off to you from me!) who just don't have much time left in a day because of these demands. Whether you fall into either of these categories, somewhere in between or anywhere surrounding, this cookbook from Southern Living was designed with someone like you in mind.

Some things I personally think that are great about this cookbook are the amount of recipes that are included. Over 600! It's designed for beginners as well as those who are good and experienced in the kitchen. Very early on in the book are tips to help you become more efficient in the kitchen. I'd say one of the things I like most about this cookbook is a checklist which includes items that should always be in one's kitchen in order that you might be able to prepare a delicious meal for those times when you just have more important things to worry about or those last minute surprises.

Another feature that any pressed-for-time cook can appreciate is the "make ahead" icon. Some of the dishes in the book can be partially or completely made ahead of time. The recipes let you know how much time you'll need for this. Then there are the recipes that let you know upfront whether it can be made in 10, 20, 30 minutes or less.

The Southern Living Complete Quick and Easy Cookbook includes over 250 beautiful photographs and contains 416 pages. It is paperback and can be purchased for $24.95 at Oxmoorhouse.com, Amazon and Barnes and Noble. I think it would be perfect for any mom and/or busy or aspiring cook and would make a great gift for Christmas. It is published by Oxmoor House (isbn 978-0-8487-3773-3) and you can find more information on their website.

One of my readers will win a copy.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*A free copy of this cookbook was provided to me for review purposes. Opinions expressed are my own.

Best-Ever Buttermilk Biscuit Recipe


Best-Ever Buttermilk Biscuits
20 minutes or less
PREP: 8 MIN., COOK: 10 MIN.

1 cup all-purpose flour
11teaspoons baking powder
1teaspoon baking soda
1teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons chilled butter or margarine, cut into
small pieces
1cup low-fat buttermilk
Honey (optional)

1. Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level
with a knife.

2. Combine flour and next 3 ingredients in a bowl;
cut in butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until
mixture is crumbly. Add buttermilk; stir just until dry
ingredients are moistened.

3. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface; knead
4 or 5 times. Roll dough to 12-inch thickness; cut with
a 212-inch biscuit cutter. Place on a lightly greased
baking sheet. Bake at 450° for 10 minutes or until
golden. Serve warm with honey, if desired. Makes
7 servings (serving size: 1 biscuit).

Per serving: Calories 102 (32% from fat); Fat 3.6g (sat 2.2g, mono 1g, poly 0.2g);
Protein 2.5g; Carb 14.8g; Fiber 0.5g; Chol 10mg; Iron 0.9mg; Sodium 298mg; Calc 79mg


This recipe is brought to you courtesy of Southern Living Complete Quick and Easy Cookbook. Be sure to check out the giveaway in the next upcoming post!

Tuesday, December 4, 2012

Dreams Do Come True: There's a Way to Save Fruits, Veggies, Leftovers and Money


Fruits and vegetables, as we know, serve a very important purpose in our diets. They provide very much needed vitamins and minerals. They can be expensive and oftentimes end up going bad. I'd say that for me personally, this is often the case because i'll go on a mini fruit buying spree, and since I don't want them all gobbled up at once I refrigerate them and consequently end up losing them because they kinda get buried with everything else or otherwise forgotten. I could just put them into the freezer or even buy frozen, but then they're not readily available and unless i'm planning on making a smoothie, these too often end up in the freezer an excessively long time and many times freezer burnt and thrown out.

I recently learned of, and was sent, what I think of as a breakthrough device that is perfect for someone like myself,  who could use a few more days to be able to get around to using those fruits and veggies. It can also help to extend the life of leftovers. This device is called the Ozonator. I like that it's very reasonably sized and doesn't take up much space in our fridge.

The Ozonator, according to the booklet included in the packaging:

  • Promotes a clean environment. It produces ozone which oxidizes and thereby destroys many harmful germs and bacteria, molds and yeasts that may cause infection or incidents of disease and illnesses that can be transmitted from one family member to another by hand contact on foods, food containers and other hard surfaces inside your refrigerator.
  • Eliminates Odors in your Refrigerator. It eradicates odors in your refrigerator caused by many foods which include leftovers. Reducing these odors can help to prevent the transfer of odors from one food to another, which in turn keeps your refrigerator smelling fresh and clean.
  • Keeps Food Fresher Longer. It delays molding and decay of many foods you buy, which include fruits and vegetables, helping them to retain their freshness and flavor longer. This alone saves you money by protecting foods which normally degrade before you have a chance to use them.
The Ozonator runs on 4 D batteries which need to be replaced every 90-120 days. It should be placed on the top shelf and remains in the refrigerator and should only be removed to replace the batteries, and thereby you're always reaping the benefits. It's available at the very reasonable price of $39.95 and has the potential to save you thousands over time. One last thing I want to share is a video so that you can get an idea of the size and how it works.


The Ozonator is available for purchase at the Ozonator website.
Also check out Ozonator on Facebook.

*While some information was taken from the booklet I received, the opinions expressed are my own. This post contains affiliate links.