Pages

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Sleep With the Fishies (Dinner Recipe)

This is my contest entry into the Pompeian Time to Change Your Oil Recipe Contest



For this recipe you will need:

Pampers Spring Into Color Sweepstakes Info

Pampers has offered me coupons in exchange for this post.

Babies have a way of bringing joy to our lives. Waiting for that first smile and every one after is something I look forward to. They just have a way of lifting me, it seems no matter how down I may be feeling. Then there are the other milestones we look forward to as baby grows and matures; reaching, grabbing, crawling and walking just to name a few.

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Win a Trip for Four to the All New Crayola Experience!

Information on the following post has been provided by Crayola. I've been offered a gift in exchange for this post.



I'm sure we all know about Crayola Crayons. A name I remember attached to products I loved and used during my childhood, and one I now purchase for my children. I have yet to find a brand that I can even consider equal to the quality i've come to expect from them.

Well, it's their 110th Birthday and in celebration, they're throwing a birthday bash at the all new Crayola Experience! The Crayola Experience is the world's only interactive Crayola family attraction. Featuring four floors of new interactive exhibits and one of a kind attractions that will bring the magic of color and children's creativity life, the winner will have the chance to be one of the first to experience the fun.

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Dial Kids Body Wash Review and $1000 Sweepstakes Info!!

*I was provided a review sample in exchange for this post. No further compensation was received and the opinions are mine.


One of the first things I did when I received this Dial Body and Hair wash for kids was take a good whiff. Ahh peach. I knew it had to be peach before I read the scent on the label. With a smile, I had a couple of my children who were around smell it as well. One thing we knew from there is that we all agreed that it was pleasant smelling. When I bathed my 1 year old with it, I personally thought it left a nice smell. When he passed by my daughter later in the day, she complimented that his hair smelled good. I proudly remembered that i'd used this Dial Kids body wash during his shower earlier.

Friday, April 12, 2013

Happy National Licorice Day! Enjoy These Licorice Facts


National Licorice Day 2013 - LICORICE FACTS

1) Red Vines® are made with wheat (that is sweetened, flavored and baked)—so basically licorice is unleavened bread. Red Vines® are made with no preservatives, so they should be stored in an airtight container. If needed, Red Vines® can be heated in a microwave oven for 5-7 seconds for the candy to reach the desired softness.

2) Licorice root was found in great quantities in the tomb of King Tut among his gold, jewelry and art treasures. It was presumed that King Tut wanted to take the root with him on his journey to the next world so that he could make his sweet drink “Mai sus” when he got there.

Giveaway: Top Five "Mammoth Mom Myths" Revealed #Rafflecopter


5. Moms LOVE to spend their free time cleaning! A new mop, dish scrubber or toilet brush will make her feel more loved and needed and oh-so-special.

4. What all mothers REALLY want is to cater to their families 24/7, so give her that honor by wrapping up a brand new serving tray set complete with pre-made hors d'oeuvres to feed everyone in the family (make sure it's got lots of Dad's favorite snacks -Mom LOVES to please her man)!

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

King's Faith Movie. Demand it at Your Local Theater!


When I first received an invite to preview this movie, King's Faith, (available in select theaters April 26), I thought, well, it's a Christian movie and the story line seems like an okay one and it'll be something to do with the kids. I didn't recognize most of the actors and just really did not know what to expect. I thought that maybe this would be a good movie with okay acting and a positive message that I could talk over with my kids. I know this movie is geared towards teenagers and all, but even young children face pressures and I thought it would be good for our discussions.

Grab Your Red Vines... This Friday is National Licorice Day!

There are a lot of National Days. I'd say most of which I had no idea they existed. The one coming up Friday is the perfect reason to enjoy something that's sweet, but not too sweet.

Red Vines offers the perfect snack to complement this day for your to create your moment. Red vines are fat free, contain no preservatives are low in sodium and come in a variety of flavors including Original Red, Black Licorice, Grape, Cherry and Strawberry. There are also sugar free varieties. What's even more are the different sizes they're available in, from the long slender ones to stubby bite sized ones.


While my kids really enjoyed the Original flavor, I think that overall we enjoyed the Strawberry Licorice the most. The flavor in these are, to me, like no other licorice I can recall tasting and I have to admit I found myself a tad selfish with these.

Red Vines can be found at many retail locations. Find out where they're sold near you by using the store finder on the Red Vine site. The can also be found online at CandyCabinet.com.

I was sent samples of Red Vines in exchange for this review. The opinions expressed are my own.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Bathtime for Baby with Nuby


Bathing a newborn is hard enough. This was true for me as a first time mom as it is the sixth time around. I mean, there's a science to it. You have to start off by cleaning baby's face, then hair washing and cover the head and then the body and you're a little anxious because baby is slippery when wet. And then there are the technical parts of it, like wondering if the water is too hot.

The Bath Time Clock and Thermometer is a really good tool for the technical part of bathing baby. It has an indicator to let you know if the water is too hot, too cold or just right, and also keeps you on top of making sure baby isn't in the water for too long.


Pictured here is the backside of the Bath Time Clock and Thermometer with the sensors and buttons to set the time. You can also change the settings from Celsius to Fahrenheit based on what you're comfortable using by way of these buttons.


Here is what it looks like in action with the temperature reading and the timer counting up to let me know how long baby's been in the water. If you'd rather, you can also switch the timer to clock mode and just keep track of the time.

The Bath Time and Clock Thermometer is available at BuyBabyDirect.com.

Keep up with Nuby products and updates:

www.facebook.com/nubyusa
www.twitter.com/nubyusa
www.pinterest.com/nubyusa
www.instagram.com/nubyusa

As a Nuby Mom, I receive free products to facilitate my reviews. Opinions are my own.

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Kidz Gear Headphones Review



Some things that I receive to review, I try them out before I read up the additional information that is sent with them. I find that this is sometimes a good thing, because I get to form my own opinion before learning what the manufacturer wants me to feel or believe about their products. Fortunately, this was the case with the headphones designed for children by Kidz Gear.

When I tried these on, I was immediately impressed with the stereo sound quality that they have. I did later read that these headphones are adult products built for kids, and the sound quality indeed says just that.



What makes them for kids is the fact that they adjust perfectly to fit children ranging in age from 2 and up. As you can see, my 1 1/2 year old can fit them comfortably as can my 8 year old daughter. Another thing that makes them ideal for kids which is one of the standout features and one that I did read beforehand but did not try to do a comparison test, is the volume limit technology, which limits the volume to approximately 80% of what the maximum output capability would be compared to using other audio devices.

Kidz Gear headphones come in a variety of colors that kids are sure to love. If you purchase at least two pairs, you can get a splitter device which allows two headphones to be connected to one device. Here's one other set of pictures so you can get a better look at the features of these headphones:


The first picture is just an overall view. The second is a closer look at the earpads, which provide for a comfortable listening experience. Picture three shows the volume control which also has a clip on the backside so that it can be easily attached to clothing or perhaps pockets. In picture four I wanted to show the generous amount of cord that is attached to these headphones.

Kidz Gear headphones are available at Target stores, In Motion Airport stores, or they can be purchased directly from the GearForKidz.com website for the very reasonable suggested retail price of $19.99.

I received free headphones for my children in exchange for and to facilitate this review. Opinions expressed are my own.

Giveaway: Carmex Hydrating Lotion and Healing Cream

I know that i've reviewed these products before, but they're definitely worth mentioning again and this review also brings another giveaway where one of you will win a set of these great skin care items for yourself.

As you probably noticed, I put a little note on each of these tubes to point out the difference. I'll also be sharing details from the containers to hopefully help you distinguish the difference between the two.

Starting with the Hydrating Lotion from Carmex. It is ideal for everyday use. When trying it out this time, I did take note that it's thinner. I'd compare it to the consistency of yogurt. I also noticed that the medicinal feel of it kicks in rather quickly and seems to be a bit stronger than the cream. It's definitely non-greasy. Now on to the information taken from the container: it's for use anywhere the skin feels dry, daily use will help keep the skin soft and smooth. This hydrating lotion contains healing ingredients Aloe and vitamin E to nourish and moisturize skin. I would describe the smell as a mild sweet smell which is in no way overbearing in case you're concerned about wearing it along with body fragrances such as perfumes or sprays.

The Healing Cream is thicker. I'd compare the consistency to butter that's been sitting out for a little while. It's also designed for everyday use. You have to squeeze the tube a little harder to get it out of the tube and it takes a little longer to rub into your skin. I really like the way it feels on my skin. It just feels protected and like it can stand up against heat and wind damage. It's designed for those areas such as elbows and knees and also hands and feet. You know the ones that suffer most from ashy-ness and dryness. Some other things mentioned on the container are that it has nine healing ingredients that penetrate and help repair your very dry and rough or cracked skin (yup, i'm picturing my feet here, lol). It also says that it's concentrated so you only need a small amount.

If dry skin is a concern of yours or you just need to maintain, both of these products in my opinion would be great to add to your regimen. Look for them in your local Walmart and Walgreens.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

As a Carmex Blogger, I receive free products from time to time in exchange for reviews. The opinions expressed are my own.

Monday, April 1, 2013

Waxelene - The All Natural, Organic Alternative to Petroleum Jelly



I remember my petroleum jelly days. Slapping some on my legs to keep them from looking ashy, and then on my lips for that glossy look. While time has brought about a change and the use of alternative products, time has also brought on the knowledge that petroleum jelly containing products may not have been as good as once thought.

If you're looking for an alternative to petroleum jelly that's actually safe, check out Waxelene. Looking at the ingredients, I was surprised that there are only four. It felt even better to know that the ingredients are organic. Waxelene can be used for anything you would have used petroleum jelly for including skin moisturization, diaper irritation (safe for babies), after shave, after sun and for protection from chafing and wind burn. I was especially surprised to find out it can even be used on my lips.


If I had to describe the scent, I would say it's a bit sweet smelling with somewhat of an herbal addition to it. It's not overbearing, and the only time you'll really notice it is when putting it on, or when your nose happens to be near application sites, which is even less noticeable as time goes on.

Waxelene is eco-friendly, contains no parabens or artificial ingredients, is water and sweat resistant, not greasy an goes on clear. Another plus is that it's made right here in the U.S..

Waxelene can be purchased at Waxelene.com. A 2 oz size is currently $6.99 plus shipping. You can also find it in stores such as CVS, Whole Foods, Bed Bath and Beyond among some other retailers.


I was sent a sample to facilitate this review. Many statements here are taken from the insert, but the opinions and experience are my own.

Nuby Printed Sport Sippers


I have to admit that what drew me to these particular cups are the cute characters on them. There are some that are just perfect for little boys and some just perfect for little girls. Being a little partial since this was for my little guy, I love the idea of the little super heroes. A perfect fit since my boys are always pretending to be heroes, and our 1 1/2 year old is sure to follow suit.


Yup, this is the face he makes when he's drinking from his sipper. He gets all serious with it and he's content whether it's simply water, or if it's filled with something like juice or iced tea (pardon the photo-bomber ;) ).


The Nuby Sport Sippers are designed to be easily held by little hands. As you can see, my tot is able to grip his well with just one hand. It also features a rubbery, durable sipper straw, which is perfect for toddlers who are likely going through the irritation of cutting new teeth. This cup contains no BPA, which is always a huge plus for me.

These adorable Nuby Printed Sport Sippers are available at Amazon.com.

Keep up with Nuby products and updates:

www.facebook.com/nubyusa
www.twitter.com/nubyusa
www.pinterest.com/nubyusa
www.instagram.com/nubyusa

As a Nuby Mom, I receive free products to facilitate my reviews. Opinions are my own.